Visiting Author for Schools: Stacy McAnulty

Stacy McAnulty

DATE OF SCHOOL VISIT
Wednesday, May 9 (Stacy will be visiting two schools. One in the morning and one in the afternoon. PLEASE INDICATE YOUR PREFERENCE.)

AUTHOR
Stacy McAnulty

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Stacy McAnulty Stacy McAnulty is the author of many books for young readers, including chapter book series The Dino Files and GoldieBlox and picture books including Excellent Ed, 101 Reasons Why I'm NOT Taking a Bath, and Beautiful. The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl is her middle-grade debut. A former mechanical engineer, Stacy writes about math and science with authority.

ABOUT THE BOOKThe Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
Middle school is the one problem Lucy Callahan can't solve in this middle-grade novel perfect for fans of The Fourteenth GoldfishRain Reign, and Counting by 7s. Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test--middle school Lucy's grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that's not a math textbook ). Lucy's not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy's life has already been solved. Unless there's been a miscalculation? A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty's smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different. "An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here. " --Kate Beasley, author of Gertie's Leap to Greatness

LENGTH & TOPIC OF PRESENTATION
45-60 minutes. Topic TBD

SCHOOL TYPE & GRADES
Upper Elementary School & Middle School ; grades 5-7

DESIRED # OF STUDENTS
Minimum of 150 students.

AV NEEDS
Computer/laptop, projector, projection screen, microphone. And a bottle of water.

HASTAGS/SOCIAL MEDIA
#stacymcanulty #miscalculationsoflightninggirl #tatteredcover


ORDER FORMS
Tattered Cover will design an order form that the school should distribute in advance of the author visit, and again on the day of the event to all student attendees. 

ONLINE ORDERING LINK
Link to share with students and their families to order Stacy's books: www.tatteredcover.com/book-list-stacy-mcanulty Please make sure anyone ordering online includes the name of your school in the Notes section of the order and if they'd like to pick up the book from you at the school. Please DO NOT give a book to someone who says they ordered online unless they have the printed confirmation. PLEASE KEEP THIS! You'll need to include these confirmations when returning the leftover books so you won't be charged for them! If they do ask you for a book without a confirmation, just email us the name of the student and parent's name and we can check. DEADLINE: Online orders with SCHOOL PICK UP will only be available for one week after the school visit. Orders placed after that time will need to be picked up at one of our locations, or shipped.

Staff Pick Logo
The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524767570
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - May 1st, 2018