Visiting Author for Schools: Katie Zhao

Katie Zhao

DATE OF SCHOOL VISIT
Wednesday, October 16 and Thursday, October 17. (Please indicate whether your school would prefer a morning or afternoon author visit.)

AUTHOR
Katie Zhao

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

Katie Zhao graduated from the University of Michigan with a B.A. in English and a minor in Political Science and completed her Master's in Accounting at the same school. As a sophomore, a story she posted on the online platform Wattpad won a Watty Award and was read by nearly one million people. This is her debut novel.

ABOUT THE BOOKThe Dragon Warrior 

As a member of the Jade Society, twelve-year-old Faryn Liu dreams of honoring her family and the gods by becoming a warrior. But the Society has shunned Faryn and her brother Alex ever since their father disappeared years ago, forcing them to train in secret. Then, during an errand into San Francisco, Faryn stumbles into a battle with a demon--and helps defeat it. She just might be the fabled Heaven Breaker, a powerful warrior meant to work for the all-mighty deity, the Jade Emperor, by commanding an army of dragons to defeat the demons. That is, if she can prove her worth and find the island of the immortals before the Lunar New Year. With Alex and other unlikely allies at her side, Faryn sets off on a daring quest across Chinatowns. But becoming the Heaven Breaker will require more sacrifices than she first realized. . . What will Faryn be willing to give up to claim her destiny? This richly woven contemporary middle-grade fantasy debut, full of humor, magic, and heart, will appeal to readers who love Roshani Chokshi and Sayantani DasGupta.

LENGTH & TOPIC OF PRESENTATION
TBD

SCHOOL TYPE & GRADES
Elementary School, grades 3-6

DESIRED # OF STUDENTS
50

AV NEEDS
TBD. And a water bottle.

HASHTAGS/SOCIAL MEDIA
#TatteredCover #TheDragonWarrior #KatieZhao


ORDER FORMS
Tattered Cover will design an order form that the school should distribute in advance of the author visit, and again on the day of the event to all student attendees. 

ONLINE ORDERING LINK
Link to share with students and their families to order Katie's books: https://www.tatteredcover.com/book-list-katie-zhao 

Please make sure anyone ordering online includes the name of your school in the Notes section of the order and if they'd like to pick up the book from you at the school. Please DO NOT give a book to someone who says they ordered online unless they have the printed confirmation. PLEASE KEEP THIS! You'll need to include these confirmations when returning the leftover books so you won't be charged for them! If they do ask you for a book without a confirmation, just email us the name of the student and parent's name and we can check. DEADLINE: Online orders with SCHOOL PICK UP will only be available for one week after the school visit. Orders placed after that time will need to be picked up at one of our locations, or shipped.

The Dragon Warrior Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781547602001
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - October 15th, 2019