Visiting Author for Schools: James Ponti

James Ponti

DATE OF SCHOOL VISIT
Friday, March 13. James will be visiting two schools: one in the morning and one in the afternoon. Please select morning or afternoon slot -- or either, if you're flexible!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

James Ponti was born in Italy, raised in Florida, and went to college in California. After receiving a degree in screenwriting from the USC Film School, he began a career writing and producing television shows for the likes of Nickelodeon, Disney Channel, PBS, Spike TV, History Channel, and Golf Channel. James loves writing, travel, and the Boston Red Sox. He lives with his family in Maitland, Florida.

ABOUT THE BOOK: City Spies

In this thrilling new series that Stuart Gibbs called “a must-read,” Edgar Award winner James Ponti brings together five kids from all over the world and transforms them into real-life spies—perfect for fans of the Spy School series and Mrs. Smith’s Spy School for Girls. Sara Martinez is a hacker. She recently broke into the New York City foster care system to expose her foster parents as cheats and lawbreakers. However, instead of being hailed as a hero, Sara finds herself facing years in a juvenile detention facility and banned from using computers for the same stretch of time. Enter Mother, a British spy who not only gets Sara released from jail but also offers her a chance to make a home for herself within a secret MI5 agency. Operating out of a base in Scotland, the City Spies are five kids from various parts of the world. When they’re not attending the local boarding school, they’re honing their unique skills, such as sleight of hand, breaking and entering, observation, and explosives. All of these allow them to go places in the world of espionage where adults can’t. Before she knows what she’s doing, Sarah is heading to Paris for an international youth summit, hacking into a rival school’s computer to prevent them from winning a million euros, dangling thirty feet off the side of a building, and trying to stop a villain…all while navigating the complex dynamics of her new team. No one said saving the world was easy…

Perfect for fans of STUART GIBBS!

LENGTH & TOPIC OF PRESENTATION
TBD

SCHOOL TYPE & GRADES
Upper Elementary & Middle School; grades 3-7

DESIRED # OF STUDENTS
50+

AV NEEDS
TBD. And a bottle of water.

PROMOTING & PREPARING FOR THE EVENT
Promoting and preparing for the author's school visit is the most important ingredients for a successful, educational, and fun event. Please be sure to carefuly read: What an Author Visit is All About.

HASHTAGS/SOCIAL MEDIA

#TatteredCover 

#JamesPonti

#CitySpies


ORDER FORMS
Tattered Cover will design an order form that the school should distribute in advance of the author visit, and again on the day of the event to all student attendees. 

ONLINE ORDERING LINK
Link to share with students and their families to order James' books: 

https://www.tatteredcover.com/book-list-james-ponti

Please make sure anyone ordering online includes the name of your school in the Notes section of the order and if they'd like to pick up the book from you at the school. Please DO NOT give a book to someone who says they ordered online unless they have the printed confirmation. PLEASE KEEP THIS! You'll need to include these confirmations when returning the leftover books so you won't be charged for them! If they do ask you for a book without a confirmation, just email us the name of the student and parent's name and we can check. DEADLINE: Online orders with SCHOOL PICK UP will only be available for one week after the school visit. Orders placed after that time will need to be picked up at one of our locations, or shipped.

 

City Spies Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534414914
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Aladdin - March 10th, 2020

Framed! Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781481436311
Availability: Available to Order - Usually Arrives in Our Store in 4 to 7 Days
Published: Aladdin - May 2nd, 2017

Vanished! (Framed! #2) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781481436342
Availability: Available to Order - Usually Arrives in Our Store in 4 to 7 Days
Published: Aladdin - April 24th, 2018

Trapped! (Framed! #3) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781534408920
Availability: Available to Order - Usually Arrives in Our Store in 4 to 7 Days
Published: Aladdin - September 10th, 2019