Visiting Author for Schools: Ally Condie & Brendan Reichs

Ally Condie & Brendan Reichs

DATE OF SCHOOL VISIT
Monday, October 8. (PLEASE INDICATE YOUR DATE & TIME PREFERENCES.)

AUTHOR
Ally Condie & Brendan Reichs

ABOUT THE AUTHORS

ALLY CONDIE: Ally is an author of young adult and middle grade fiction. Her novel Matched was a #1 New York Times and international bestseller, and spent over a year on the New York Times bestseller list. She is the founder of the non-profit, WriteOut Foundation, which runs writeoutcamp.org–a writing camp for teens that allows students to work with published authors, experience the outdoors, and enjoy other activities (plays, costume balls, rock climbing, and more). Ally lives with her husband and four children outside of Salt Lake City, Utah. She loves reading, writing, running, and listening to her husband play guitar. 

BRENDAN REICHS: Born and raised in Charlotte, North Carolina, Brendan attended the public school system as a proud Myers Park Eagle, Carmel Cougar and South Meck Sabre. He had many great teachers along the way, to whom he owes eternal thanks. Then he packed up and headed to Wake Forest University in Winston-Salem, NC. When they finally handed him a degree — a B.A. in History, the most practical of all undergraduate studies — he moved to DC, and three fun years later, enrolled at The George Washington…

ABOUT THE BOOK: The Darkdeep
New York Times bestselling authors Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs team up to co-author this thrilling first book in a darkly suspenseful middle grade series. When a bullying incident sends twelve year-old Nico Holland over the edge of a cliff into the icy waters of Still Cove, where no one ever goes, friends Tyler and Ella--and even "cool kid" Opal--rush to his rescue . . . only to discover an island hidden in the swirling mists below. Shrouded by dense trees and murky tides, the island appears uninhabited, although the kids can't quite shake the feeling that something about it is off. Their suspicions grow when they stumble upon an abandoned houseboat with an array of curiosities inside: odd-looking weapons, unnerving portraits, maps to places they've never heard of, and a glass jar containing something completely unidentifiable. As the group delves deeper into the unknown, their discoveries--and their lives--begin to intertwine in weird and creepy ways. Something ancient has awakened . . . and it knows their wishes and dreams--and their darkest, most terrible secrets. Do they have what it takes to face the shadowy things that lurk within their own hearts? Told from Nico's and Opal's alternating points of view, this tale from bestselling duo Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs kicks off a suspenseful and spooky new series, perfect for fans of Stranger Things.

"Move over, Stranger Things . . . The Darkdeep will pull you into an irresistibly eerie world beyond your wildest dreams--and nightmares." -- Melissa de la Cruz, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Descendants series

"The stakes are huge, the action high-throttle, but what readers will remember most is its big, emotional heart. . . A truly spectacular adventure." -- Soman Chainani, New York Times bestselling author of the School for Good and Evil series
 

TO PREPARE FOR THE AUTHOR VISIT & PRESENTATION (This is an excerpt from the book.)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/pzat9mfyhmemws7/The%20Darkdeep%20excerpt.pdf?dl=0

TEACHERS! Here's a link to the ACTIVITY KIT!

LENGTH & TOPIC OF PRESENTATION
45 minutes, which includes a Q&A. TOPIC: Their presentation will be about 30 minutes and may include an interactive activity, if possible. Students will be getting up and moving around.

SCHOOL TYPE & GRADES
Upper Elementary and Lower Middle Schools; grades 4-6

DESIRED # OF STUDENTS
The more the better! (We'd like to have at least 50 or so students.)

AV NEEDS
Projector, projector screen, 2 microphones (one for each author.) The authors will bring their own laptop (Mac) and an adaptor to go into the school's projector, but if the school prefers they use the school's computer/laptop, the authors will also have the presentation on a flash drive. The presentation needs sound/speakers. And a bottle of water. 

HASTAGS/SOCIAL MEDIA
#acouchforlama, #allycondie, @AllyCondie, #brendanreichs, @brendan.reichs, #darkdeep, #tatteredcover, @bloomsburykids


ORDER FORMS
Tattered Cover will design an order form that the school should distribute in advance of the author visit, and again on the day of the event to all student attendees. 

ONLINE ORDERING LINK
Link to share with students and their families to order Ally and Brendan's books: www.tatteredcover.com/book-list-ally-condie-brendan-reichs Please make sure anyone ordering online includes the name of your school in the Notes section of the order and if they'd like to pick up the book from you at the school. Please DO NOT give a book to someone who says they ordered online unless they have the printed confirmation. PLEASE KEEP THIS! You'll need to include these confirmations when returning the leftover books so you won't be charged for them! If they do ask you for a book without a confirmation, just email us the name of the student and parent's name and we can check. DEADLINE: Online orders with SCHOOL PICK UP will only be available for one week after the school visit. Orders placed after that time will need to be picked up at one of our locations, or shipped.

 

The Darkdeep Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781547600465
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - October 2nd, 2018

Summerlost Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780399187216
Availability: Available to Order - Usually Arrives in Our Store in 4 to 7 Days
Published: Puffin Books - May 9th, 2017