Michelle Theall In Conversation With Buzzy Jackson Live at Aspen Grove

 

Tattered Cover is pleased to welcome Michelle Theall to our Aspen Grove location on September 19th at 6:00pm! She will be presenting her book, The Wind Will Catch You: A Novel, alongside Buzzy Jackson! This event is free to the public and no ticket is required for entry.

 

ABOUT THE BOOK

In the tradition of Barbara Kingsolver and perfect for fans of Mostly Dead Things, in this powerful debut novel, a young woman searches for the truth about her childhood, and what she finds forever alters her beliefs about home, identity, and family.

Sky Fielder is a typical college student, except that she is a product of the foster care system, lives in a halfway house, and meets with her caseworker on a weekly basis. While failing to balance her grades and erratic social life, she receives a call from a hospital, asking her to make medical decisions for her brother Ben—who died more than a decade before.  

The call must be a scam, and besides, Sky has a new life now. None of her classmates know about her desperate and feral childhood in West Texas, where her brother kept her mind off hunger with adventures along the riverbeds and cliffs surrounding their trailer—or about the rash decision that cost him his life and almost ended hers.

In fact, only one person truly knows Sky, because it’s her job. But Sky’s assigned caseworker, Laura, is an employee of social services, which surely means she can’t be trusted. As Laura helps Sky unravel the mysteries surrounding the man in the hospital, Sky remembers the risks it takes to love and be loved. When the past and the present collide   and long-kept secrets are revealed, Sky must decide how far she’s willing to go to have a home and family again.   

The Wind Will Catch You is an eye-opening, gritty, and hopeful novel by GLAAD media award nominee Michelle Theall about upheaval and resilience, forgiveness and family, love and unexpected allies, all set in motion by issues of social justice and a broken American foster care system.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Alaska magazine editor since 2013, Michelle Theall started her career in publishing in 1994 at Women’s Sports and Fitness magazine. Over the next 28 years, she garnered success as editor-in-chief of three different national titles, founder of one, and the author of three non-fiction books. She has appeared on NBC Today, MSNBC, The Travel Channel, and was recently featured in O, The Oprah Magazine. Her feature essay in 5280 Magazine, All That’s Left is God, earned a GLAAD Media Award nomination, which led to her critically acclaimed memoir, Teaching the Cat to Sit, about growing up gay and Catholic in the Texas Bible Belt.

 

ABOUT THE MODERATOR

 

Buzzy Jackson grew up in the mountains (Truckee CA and Montana), lived all over the place (Iowa City, Perth Australia, Los Angeles, Barcelona, NYC, Berkeley, Cambridge MA, San Francisco, Oakland, Cape Town South Africa), and then moved back to the mountains again (Colorado), where she lives with her family and Ralph (a dog). She is the proud daughter of Motor City legend Ruth J. Hall and beloved mystery writer Jon A. Jackson.

To Die Beautiful is Buzzy’s debut novel and fourth book. She has a Ph.D. in History from UC Berkeley and is a member of the National Book Critics’ Circle. She is currently working on a new novel based on a historical American true crime. 

The Wind Will Catch You: A Novel By Michelle Theall Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781639104659
Availability: Click for Store Availability
Published: Alcove Press - September 19th, 2023

Event Location: 
Location: Aspen Grove