Children's Book Week

May 3-9, 2021 is Children's Book Week! 

 

This week has long been celebrated and used as a tool to introduce kids to the joys of reading.  While educators, librarians, and booksellers deserve to be celebrated as heroes in their abilities to connect children with the magic of books, anyone can be the source of inspiration to the young people around them! 

 

We put together this book list in hopes that you could use it to be that source of inspiration for a young person you know.

 


 

 


Upstaged 

By Diana Harmon Asher
 

A shy seventh grader learns to step into the spotlight in this heartwarming
middle-grade novel by acclaimed author, Diana Harmon Asher

 

Purchase Book Here

 

 

 

Alone
By Megan E. Freeman

 

Perfect for fans of Hatchet and the I Survived series, this harrowing middle grade
debut novel-in-verse from a Pushcart Prize–nominated poet tells the story of a
young girl who wakes up one day to find herself utterly alone in her small Colorado town.

 

Purchase Book Here

 

 


Starfish

By Lisa Fipps
 

Ellie is tired of being fat-shamed and does something about it in this poignant debut novel-in-verse.

 

Purchase Book Here

 

 

 


Ways to Grow Love 

By Renée Watson, Nina Mata (Illustrator)
 

Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award winner Renée Watson
continues her charming young middle grade series starring Ryan Hart, a girl who is pure spirit and sunshine.

 

Purchase Book Here

 

 

 


The Anti-Book 

By Raphael Simon
 

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Secret Series comes a
darkly funny story about a boy who wants the world to disappear.
This fantastical quest for comfort and belonging is perfect for fans of classics
like The Phantom Tollbooth and Coraline.

 

Purchase Book Here

 

 


Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls 

By Kaela Rivera
 

When a powerful desert spirit kidnaps her sister, Cece Rios must learn
forbidden magic to get her back, in this own voices middle grade fantasy
perfect for fans of The Storm Runner and Aru Shah and the End of Time

 

Purchase Book Here

 

 

 


Flight of the Puffin

By Ann Braden
 

One small act of kindness ripples out to connect four kids in this
stirring novel by the author of the beloved The Benefits of Being an Octopus.

 

Purchase Book Here

 

 

 


The Last Windwitch

By Jennifer Adam
 

Fans of Shannon Hale and Kelly Barnhill will delight in this charming and
richly imagined middle grade fantasy debut, featuring a wicked queen,
magical animals, a henchman with a golden heart, and a small girl with a great destiny.

 

Purchase Book Here