All Out of Pretty (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
All Out of Pretty Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
Tattered Cover Book Store Colfax Ave
2 on hand, as of Jul 19 8:30am
(JVF YA GENERAL)
Tattered Cover Book Store Aspen Grove
1 on hand, as of Jul 19 8:30am
(JVF YA GENERAL)

Staff Reviews


Andrea is a tough, book-smart teen. However, when Andrea's Gram dies and her drug-addicted mother, Ayla, immerses Andrea in her world, will Andrea be tough and smart enough to survive? This is so intense I had to put it down in places just to get a break in the action. It is a story about love, relationships, manipulation, addiction and learning how to let people in. Give to those who love Ellen Hopkins or Chris Crutcher.

— Toni, High School Librarian in Littleton, CO

Description


Andrea knows what it's like to be pretty. Thanks to her gorgeous, drug-addicted mother, she also knows where pretty can lead... At 16, Andrea is yanked from the safety of her Gram's home and dropped into the backwoods of Ohio, where she's coerced into working for her mother's drug-dealing boyfriend, Judd.

Unwilling to give up on her college dreams, Andrea spends her days trying to stay on the honor roll, and her nights packaging and delivering drugs. Judd is violent and manipulative, and Andrea often goes to bed with an empty stomach and a hardening heart.

The one bright spot in Andrea's life is a budding friendship with a charismatic girl named Chloe and her handsome cousin, Brick. These stolen moments of teenage normalcy make Andrea yearn for a way out, but fear and a sense of responsibility to her mother pull her back in. When things with Judd take a darker turn than she can bear, Andrea devises a plan to save herself. But freedom may cost her everything--and everyone--she cares about...

Gritty, heartfelt, and suspenseful, All Out of Pretty explores the complexities of self-preservation and addiction as well as the pain, and beauty, of letting go. It will appeal to fans of Sara Zarr and Sarah Dessen.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781939547484
ISBN-10: 1939547482
Publisher: Creston Books
Publication Date: April 3rd, 2018
Pages: 350
Language: English