Tim Te Maro and the Subterranean Heartsick Blues (Paperback)

Tim Te Maro and the Subterranean Heartsick Blues  By H.S Valley Cover Image

Tim Te Maro and the Subterranean Heartsick Blues (Paperback)

$12.99


Available to Order
"The racially diverse cast and the worldbuilding surrounding the magic system... provide a unique backdrop for Kiwi author Valley’s witty and buoyant debut." — Publishers Weekly starred review

What happens when your enemy becomes your friend … with benefits? 


Red, White and Royal Blue meets The Magicians in this surprising, wildly original and joyously funny LGBTQ YA novel set in a magical boarding school. 

Tim Te Maro and Elliott Parker – classmates at Fox Glacier High School for the Magically Adept – have never gotten along. But when they both get dumped the day before the big egg-baby assignment, they reluctantly decide to ditch their exes and work together. When the two boys start to bond over their magically enchanted egg-baby, they realize that beneath their animosity is something like friendship … or physical attraction.

Soon, a no-strings-attached hook-up seems like a good idea. Just for the duration of the assignment. After all, they don’t have feelings for each other … so what could possibly go wrong? 

From debut Kiwi author H.S. Valley, the latest winner of the Ampersand Prize, comes this gleefully addictive romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan. In a word – it’s magic.
H.S. Valley grew up on the Waitemata Harbour in Auckland, at the foot of Takarunga. She now lives near the Waitakere Ranges with her partner. She has a bachelor's degree in design. She won the Ampersand Prize for her debut YA novel, Tim Te Maro and the Subterranean Heartsick Blues.
Product Details ISBN: 9781760508753
ISBN-10: 1760508756
Publisher: Hardie Grant Children's Publishing
Publication Date: February 14th, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English
"Sweet and sexy in equal measure,Tim Te Maro and the Subterranean Heartsick Blues explores all the confusion, messiness and joy that comes with queer first love." —Erin Gough, author of Amelia Westlake Was Never Here

"A fun, low-stakes (but high-investment) romp through the brains of lovelorn, hormone-driven teenagers, and the delightful array of queer people that populate their school and by proxy their world." —TheSpinoff.co.nz

"
Valley’s conversational dialogue, combined with her authentic characters, make the story easy to connect with. Excellently illustrated teen struggles around love, relationships and sexuality while maintaining the fantasy setting makes the novel perfect for young adults.. . . Use of New Zealand locations and inclusion of Māori culture make the Harry Potter-like story feel fresh. . . . I recommend this novel for all young adults who can get their hands on it." —kete
 

"The racially diverse cast and the worldbuilding surrounding the magic system... provide a unique backdrop for Kiwi author Valley’s witty and buoyant debut." — Publishers Weekly starred review

Named as one of the "Must Have 2023 Queer Book Releases" —The Nerd Daily