Before the Devil Knows You're Here (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Before the Devil Knows You're Here By Autumn Krause Cover Image

Before the Devil Knows You're Here (Paperback)

$12.99


Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Part dark gothic fantasy, part journey into the bizarre, this delicious blending of tall tales and Latin American surrealism will haunt you as you devour it

"Highly imaginative and powerfully affecting."--Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

1836, Wisconsin. Catalina lives with her pa and brother in a ramshackle cabin on the edge of the wilderness. Harsh winters have brought the family to the brink of starvation, and Catalina has replaced her poet's soul with an unyielding determination to keep Pa and her brother alive.

When a sudden illness claims Pa, a strange man appears--a man covered in bark, leaves growing from his head, and sap dripping from his eyes. He scoops up her brother and disappears, leaving behind a bird with crimson wings. Catalina can't let this man--if that's what he is--have her brother. So, she grabs Pa's knife and follows the bird.

Along the way, she finds help from a young lumberjack, who has his own reasons for hunting the Man of Sap. As their journey takes them deeper into the woods, they encounter strange beasts and tormented spirits. The more they uncover about the Man of Sap, the more they learn how deeply Catalina's fate is entwined with his, planted long ago in cursed seeds.

An enchanting mixture of American tall tales and Faustian elements, Before the Devil Knows You're Here centers a fierce Mexican American poet on a quest to save her brother. Autumn Krause's vivid, haunting prose and rich symbolism make this a must-read for fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Erin Craig.

A Kirkus Reviews Best Young Adult Book of the Year
A Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year
Autumn Krause is the author of the YA novels A Dress for the Wicked (Harper) and Before the Devil Knows You're Here (Peachtree Teen/Peachtree). She received her MFA from VCFA and currently lives in Orange County, CA with her husband and three children, and can most often be found wearing a black lace dress. Fans of folklore retellings and the haunting, lyrical horror of Erin CraigBiracial and triracial teens who have not adequately seen themselves reflected in the cannon of historical fictionLibrarians and booksellers looking to expand their Latin American voices collectionsReaders who love the sinister mood and atmosphere of Maggie Stiefvater

Product Details ISBN: 9781682637814
ISBN-10: 1682637816
Publisher: Peachtree Teen
Publication Date: February 4th, 2025
Pages: 240
Language: English