One Cool Duck #2: The Far-Out Fort (Paperback)

One Cool Duck #2: The Far-Out Fort By Mike Petrik Cover Image

One Cool Duck #2: The Far-Out Fort (Paperback)

$8.99


Available to Order

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the One Cool Duck series.

Duck and the gang want to build a cool hangout in the second book in this graphic chapter book series perfect for fans of Narwahl and Jelly.

When the gang decides to build a hangout where everyone can chill together, there are supplies to gather, the puuurrrfect tree to find, and of course: an awesome name to pick! (Turkey wonders: What about the Doozy Den?) But when Cat tells the gang that tree forts aren’t cool, everybody’s feathers get ruffled—especially Duck’s. In three short chapters, perfect for readers just gaining confidence, Duck and his friends once again show Cat that being cool is never about being mean!

Hippo Park graphic chapter books are ideal for beginning and newly independent readers, with approachable page counts, easy-to-follow paneling, and artwork that supports text comprehension.
Mike Petrik is an animator by day and an illustrator of books, magazines, and wonderfully scary doodles by night. The author of The Silly Sounds of Halloween (Harper, July 2021) and The Silly Sounds of Christmas (Harper, September 2022) he is new on the scene and is an exciting new talent. He lives with his wife and three children in Oak Lawn, IL.

Product Details ISBN: 9781662640261
ISBN-10: 1662640269
Publisher: Hippo Park
Publication Date: October 3rd, 2023
Pages: 64
Language: English
Series: One Cool Duck
"Kid-friendly with a rad edge…..Young readers [will] appreciate the sick vibes and smooth wordplay..Totally sweet!” -- Kirkus Reviews

"A fun adventure....Recommended for raders ages 5-7 looking for a silly beginner chapter book graphic novel. Great for fans of the Pea, Bea, and Jay series." -- Youth Services Book Review

"The fun continues as these characters search for a place to hang out together....the artwork is full of details for readers to flesh out the dialogue. I appreciate the ending leading to the next book. A fun read for mid-elementary level." -- Pamela Gombert, Librarian, Bowen Elementary

"... the second book in an already super cool series. Kids will love the quirky expressions of the animal friends, as well as their unique personalities. They will wonder in anticipation with the other friends as they decide what to name the fort....Children will be drawn to the colorful illustrations and fun characters. A fantastic addition to the series!" -- Rebecca Band, educator

"This book was ace! Highly recommended." -- Dona Maguire, Goodreads