Furia (Spanish Edition) (Paperback)

Furia (Spanish Edition) By Yamile Saied Cover Image

Furia (Spanish Edition) (Paperback)

$13.95


Available to Order - Usually Arrives in Our Store in 4 to 7 Days
GANADORA DE LA MEDALLA PURA BELPRÉ 2021 PARA AUTORES JÓVENES.
Incluido en el club de lectura Hello Sunshine, de la actriz Reese Witherspoon.

Uno de los mejores libros juveniles del año, de acuerdo a BuzzFeed * Cosmopolitan * Kirkus Reviews * SheReads * New York Public Library

 
Yo era la Furia, después de todo. Sería la elegida para romper el círculo.
 
En Rosario, Argentina, Camila Hassan tiene una doble vida. En casa es una hija atenta y en la cancha es la imparable Furia. Cuando su equipo califica para el torneo Sudamericano, sabrá cuán lejos puede llegar. El camino es difícil. Camila deberá enfrentarse a un mundo que no está preparado para chicas como ella, pero La Furia no puede ser negada.
 
Furia es una conmovedora historia sobre la familia, la identidad, el primer amor y, por supuesto, el fútbol. Resonará en cualquier muchacha a quien alguna vez le han dicho que no puede y no haya parado hasta conseguirlo.

ENGLISH DESCRIPTION

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK
Recipient of the 2021 Pura Belpré Young Adult Author Medal
 
One of BuzzFeed's Must-Read YA Books of 2020
A Best Book of the Year according to Cosmopolitan * Kirkus Reviews * SheReads * New York Public Library

A powerful contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star whomust put everything on the line —even her blooming love story— to follow her dreams.

In Rosario, Argentina, Camila Hassan lives a double life.

At home, she is a careful daughter, living within her mother’s narrow expectations, in herrising-soccer-star brother’s shadow, and under the abusive rule of her short-temperedfather.

On the field, she is La Furia, a powerhouse of skill and talent. When her team qualifies forthe South American tournament, Camila gets the chance to see just how far those talentscan take her. In her wildest dreams, she’d get an athletic scholarship to a North Americanuniversity.

But the path ahead isn’t easy. Her parents don’t know about her passion. They wouldn’t allow a girl to play fútbol—and she needs their permission to go any farther. And the boy she once loved is back in town. Since he left, Diego has become an international star, playing in Italy for the renowned team Juventus. Camila doesn’t have time to be distracted by her feelings for him. Things aren’t the same as when he left: she has herown passions and ambitions now, and La Furia cannot be denied. As her life becomesmore complicated, Camila is forced to face her secrets and make her way in a world with no place for the dreams and ambition of a girl like her.

Filled with authentic details and the textures of day-to-day life in Argentina, heart-soaringromance, and breathless action on the pitch, Furia is the story of a girl’s journey to make her life her own.
Yamile Saied Méndez es una argentina-estadounidense obsesionada con el fútbol. Autora ganadora de la medalla de oro Pura Belpré, vive en Utah con su esposo puertorriqueño, sus cinco hijos, dos perros adorables y uno majestuoso gato. Beneficiaria inaugural de la Beca Walter Dean Myers, también es graduada de Voices of Our Nations (VONA) y del MFA de escritura para niños, jóvenes y adultos del Vermont College. Escribe libros ilustrados para pequeños y jóvenes, y romance para adultos. Yamile es socia fundadora de Las Musas, el primer colectivo no binario de mujeres y autores Latinxs MG y YA.
Product Details ISBN: 9781644735589
ISBN-10: 164473558X
Publisher: Vintage Español
Publication Date: October 18th, 2022
Pages: 416
Language: Spanish