Tracking Game: A Timber Creek K-9 Mystery (Paperback)

Tracking Game: A Timber Creek K-9 Mystery Cover Image
$16.99
Available to Order - Usually Arrives in Our Store in 4 to 7 Days

Description


November 2019 Top Pick, Library Reads
Finalist, Colorado Book Awards, Mystery
Finalist, Willa Literary Award by Women Writing the West, Contemporary Fiction

Two brutal murders, a menacing band of poachers, and a fearsome creature on the loose in the mountains plunge Mattie Cobb and her K-9 partner Robo into a sinister vortex.


An explosion outside a community dance sends Mattie Cobb and Cole Walker reeling into the night, where they discover a burning van and beside it the body of outfitter Nate Fletcher. But the explosion didn't kill Nate--it was two gunshots to the heart.

The investigation leads them to the home of rancher Doyle Redman, whose daughter is Nate's widow, and the object of one of their suspect's affection. But before they can make an arrest, they receive an emergency call from a man who's been shot in the mountains. Mattie and Robo rush to the scene, only to be confronted by the ominous growl of a wild predator.

As new players emerge on the scene, Mattie begins to understand the true danger that's enveloping Timber Creek. They journey into the cold, misty mountains to track the animal--but discover something even more deadly in Tracking Game, the fifth installment in Margaret Mizushima's Timber Creek K-9 mysteries.

About the Author


Margaret Mizushima is the author of the critically acclaimed Timber Creek K-9 mysteries. Her first novel, Killing Trail, was named Debut Mystery of the Month by Library Journal and was an RT Reviewers' Choice Award nominee. She balances writing with assisting her husband with their veterinary clinic and Angus cattle herd. They live on a small ranch in Colorado where they raised two daughters and a multitude of animals. This is her fifth mystery.

Praise For…


Praise for Tracking Game:
Finalist, Willa Literary Award, Contemporary Fiction

"Mizushima has a gift when it comes to crafting immersive settings...She also makes both the human and animal characters feel authentic."
Associated Press

“Mizushima’s take on small-town policing feels authentic and series fans will be thrilled to see Cole and Mattie getting closer.”
Publishers Weekly

"Whether one likes stories about conflict or relationships, there's something for everybody in Mizushima's fine novel."
Booklist

"Part family drama, part animal-infused mystery, part ongoing exploration of the troubled heroine's psyche." 
Kirkus Reviews

"Compelling and twisty... Fans of Western mysteries as well as those featuring dogs will enjoy this latest entry in the series."
Library Journal

"An inherently fascinating 'whodunnit' style mystery...[A] riveting read from cover to cover."
Midwest Book Review

"Mizushima has created another compelling mystery...The vivid Colorado setting adds the perfect touch, making Tracking Game sure to appeal to fans of Margaret Coel or Nevada Barr."
Shelf Awareness

“I am a big fan of this series.”
Deadly Pleasures Mystery Magazine

“Full of suspense, I read this page turner in a matter of hours and will read it again.”
Kings River Life

“A mystery you won’t be able to put aside.”
Manhattan Book Review

"Mattie and her K-9 Robo are back, and they make a team to be reckoned with...A fasinating mystery in a rugged landscape...I can't wait for the next adventure from these dynamic partnerships."
—Anne Hillerman, New York Times bestselling author of the Manuelito, Chee, Leaphorn mysteries 

"Tracking Game [is] Margaret Mizushima's most compelling Timber Creek K-9 mystery yet."
—Scott Graham, National Outdoor Award-winning author of Arches Enemy
 
"Tracking Game crackles with high tension, a fascinating plot, and a new development in the ongoing mystery of Mattie Cobb’s family background.”
—Pat Stoltey, author of Colorado Book Award finalist Wishing Caswell Dead

"A thrilling mystery with terrific twists and a wonderful cast of characters...I couldn't put this book down!"
—Barbara Nickless, Wall Street Journal and Amazon Charts bestselling author of Ambush

Praise for the Timber Creek K-9 mysteries:
"Mizushima's classic police procedural adds a fresh angle involving the work of K-9s...Sue Henry fans will love."
Library Journal starred review, Debut of the Month

"The interactions between Mattie and Robo will tug the heartstrings of every dog lover...Mizushima’s debut reflects both her skill as a suspense writer and her respect for animals."
Booklist starred review 

"Check it out."
—Bill Crider, Anthony Award-winning author of Between the Living and the Dead

"A compelling and savvy mystery that explores the big secrets in a small western town. I was cheering Mattie and Robo every step of the way."
—Maragret Coel, New York Times bestselling author of The Man Who Fell from the Sky

"Characters become so real they feel like friends. Mizushima’s sleight of hand as a genre writer (she’s particularly adept at red herrings) only makes this fine series that much more enjoyable."
Mystery Scene

"Suspenseful and engaging, keeping readers on edge the entire way through this third Timber Creek K-9 Mystery."
RT Book Reviews Top Pick

"Another thrilling adventure with Mattie and Robo."
Red Carpet Crash


Product Details
ISBN: 9781643855639
ISBN-10: 1643855638
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: August 11th, 2020
Series: A Timber Creek K-9 Mystery