Oscar Wilde and the Return of Jack the Ripper: An Oscar Wilde Mystery (Hardcover)

Now Open for Prepaid Curbside Pickup at Colfax Avenue. Phone Ordering and Inquires. Limited Hours.

For your safety and ours, our stores are still closed to the public. Our website is now open (24/7).

We're also offering Prepaid Curbside Pick up at our Colfax Avenue location only. Pick up hours will be 12:00 pm to 6:00 pm on Tuesday through Friday and 10:00 am to 2:00 pm on Saturday.

Please wait for confirmation that your order is ready before coming to the store. We cannot promise same day order and pick up, but we will process your request as fast as we can. We appreciate your patience.

Also, our Colfax Avenue phone lines are now open 10:00 am to 4:00 pm on weekdays for inquiries and ordering. 303-322-7727. We look forward to hearing from you!

Oscar Wilde and the Return of Jack the Ripper: An Oscar Wilde Mystery Cover Image
$25.95
Available to Order - Usually Arrives in Our Store in 4 to 7 Days

Description


Oscar Wilde and Arthur Conan Doyle are recruited to track down Jack the Ripper in a novel that is at once a gripping detective story and a witty portrait of two of the most brilliant Victorian minds.


London, 1894. 


When it appears that the notorious Jack the Ripper has returned to London, Chief Constable Melville Macnaghten recruits his neighbor Oscar Wilde to help him solve the case, hoping the author’s unparalleled knowledge of the London underworld might be exactly what the police need to finally capture the serial killer.


In an account narrated by Wilde's close friend, fellow author Arthur Conan Doyle, Wilde gathers together suspects from the theaters, brothels, asylums, and traveling circuses of East London in the hopes of finding the true identity of Jack the Ripper before he can strike again. But even as the pair of amateur detectives venture further and further into a tangled web of criminals, performers, and prostitutes, new killings come to light that bring the investigation right back to Wilde’s own neighborhood.  


 



About the Author


Gyles Brandreth is a writer, broadcaster, former MP, Chancellor of the University of Chester, and one of Britain's most sought-after award ceremony hosts and after-dinner speakers. His many books include the Oscar Wilde Murder Mysteries and The 7 Secrets of Happiness.

Praise For…


A crisp account of the Ripper murders and a droll roman à clef about the last years of the singular Wilde.

Fans of Doyle and Wilde will find the pair fully developed and fascinating company. And Brandreth's extensive research into the Whitechapel Murders produces a solution that is sound, satisfying and original. A delightful police procedural not to be missed. Smart, sly, and gripping.

This new novel may be the most infectious of Brandreth’s series and a book I literally could not put down. A terrific historical thriller.

Brandreth knows his subject well and writes convincingly. He shows a keen sense of the era, and the reader feels transported to Wilde’s time and his society. The ingenious plot moves along at a brisk pace, but still allows Brandreth space to delve into the fully realized characters of both sleuths, particularly Doyle, who serves as the narrator of this book. The solution to the crimes is unexpected and intriguing. This is an engaging mystery. Recommended.

Fascinating blend of fact and fiction. Huge fun and highly recommended.

A wonderful entertainment and worth any reader’s time.

Vastly entertaining. Demonstrating once again Brandreth’s assured touch for Victorian time and place, it is a delight.
— Geoffrey Mansell, London Daily Mail

A terrific new novel.
— Richard Madeley, London Daily Express


Product Details
ISBN: 9781643130217
ISBN-10: 1643130218
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Publication Date: April 2nd, 2019
Pages: 368
Language: English