The Rage (Paperback)

The Rage By Gene Kerrigan Cover Image

The Rage (Paperback)

$18.00


Available to Order

Winner of the CWA Gold Dagger for Best Crime Novel of the Year. "Fans of The Wire] can find many of the same strengths in Kerrigan's work" (The New York Times).

Vincent Naylor has just been released from prison and has already begun to plot his next heist--the robbery of an armored car. Det. Sgt. Bob Tidey has been caught perjuring himself to protect fellow officers. He's also found the link between an unsolved murder case and the recent execution of a corrupt banker in serious financial difficulty. An old acquaintance will change the course of the investigation. A retired nun living on regrets and bad memories notices something deeply suspicious and makes a phone call that sets in motion a series of fateful events.
In The Rage, Gene Kerrigan weaves together astute observations regarding a financial crisis, church abuse, and gangland crime. The writing is, as always with a Kerrigan novel, superb, with an engaging story that has pitch perfect dialogue and characters that come fully alive.
The prize-winning crime fiction is set in contemporary Ireland where nothing is neatly resolved and there are no easy choices. Like life itself.

"A perfect novel . . . beautifully constructed, with sharp and relevant dialogue, and not a superfluous word to be found." --The Oregonian

"Gritty and compulsively readable."--The Wall Street Journal

"Tightly plotted . . . the story's pacing is masterly."--The New Yorker

"A boundlessly readable portrait of an Ireland in which all the old certainties have vanished. Remarkable for its verve, moral trickiness, and nifty plotting."--NPR Fresh Air

"Fans of Ken Bruen, Declan Hughes, and Declan Burke won't want to miss this one."--Booklist (starred review)
Gene Kerrigan is a Dublin writer. He has been a journalist for over thirty years, Journalist of the Year in 1985 and 1990, and is the author of Another Country, This Great Little Nation (with Pat Brennan), Never Make a Promise You Can't Break: How to Succeed in Irish Politics, and the novel, Little Criminals.

Product Details ISBN: 9781609454418
ISBN-10: 1609454413
Publisher: World Noir
Publication Date: May 1st, 2018
Pages: 320
Language: English