Emergency Contact (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Emergency Contact Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Tattered Cover Book Store Colfax Ave
3 on hand, as of Jun 23 7:01am
(JVF YA GENERAL)
Tattered Cover Book Store Historic LoDo
2 on hand, as of Jun 23 7:01am
(JVF YA GENERAL)
Tattered Cover Book Store Aspen Grove
2 on hand, as of Jun 23 7:01am
(JVF YA GENERAL)

Staff Reviews


While Emergency Contact''s romance is far from a meet-cute instalove, it is a cute and fun realistic romance book. Penny and Sam are adorable in their mutual awkwardness anytime they meet IRL. Because they don't have to see each other, it is much easier to talk about anxieties, worries and dreams when simply texting. But will this go beyond friendship? Do either of them want it to? Penny's relationship with her mother is also a great part of this book. Give to fans of Rainbow Rowell or Jenny Han.

— Toni, High School Librarian in Littleton, CO

Description


"Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book." --Rainbow Rowell

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory--perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I've Loved Before.

For Penny Lee high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn't actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it's seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can't wait to leave behind.

Sam's stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a caf and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he's a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him.

When Sam and Penny cross paths it's less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch--via text--and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to see each other.


Coverage from NPR



Product Details
ISBN: 9781534408968
ISBN-10: 1534408967
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: March 27th, 2018
Pages: 400
Language: English