When Dimple Met Rishi (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
When Dimple Met Rishi Cover Image
List Price: $18.99
Our Price: $17.99
(Save: $1.00 5%)
On Our Shelves Now
Tattered Cover Book Store Colfax Ave
2 on hand, as of Oct 23 9:01am
(JVF YA GENERAL)

Staff Reviews


Dimple Shah and Rishi Patel could not be more different. Dimple is rebellious and refuses to conform to her parents standards on what she should be. Rishi is a dutiful son to his parents and fine with whatever they throw his way. So when their parents both agree to send them both to Insomnia Con to hopefully hit it off, Rishi thinks, why not? But Dimple isn't having it. And when they are assigned to the same team, things get interesting. But love has the funniest way of showing itself in the most unexpected places, whether you want it there or not. Sandhya Menon does a sensational job in When Dimple Met Rishi. This book was absolutely fantastic and perfect for fans of The Sun is Also a Star.

— Lexie J., Tattered Cover Teen Advisory Board member

At a coding competition in San Francisco, fate could be at work … or more likely their parents. Dimple wants nothing to do with Rishi, the boy her parents decide should be her groom in an arranged marriage. As the two bond over building an app for the competition and shared experiences in San Francisco and their everyday lives, the characters fall in love with each other and the reader falls in love with the novel. A sweet rom-com with heart and humor throughout, When Dimple Met Rishi is a story to remember.

— Arden H., TC Teen Advisory Board

Description


A New York Times bestseller

An NPR Best Book of 2017
A Buzzfeed Best YA Book of 2017
A Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of 2017
A School Library Journal Best Young Adult Book of 2017
A Bustle Best YA Novel of 2017
A PopSugar Best Young Adult Novel of 2017
A Book Riot Best Book of 2017
A Paste Magazine Best Young Adult Novel of 2017

“Effervescent.” —Chicago Tribune
“Full of warm characters and sweet romance.” —Entertainment Weekly
“Get ready to fall in love with Dimple Shah and Rishi Patel.” HelloGiggles

The rom-com everyone’s talking about! Eleanor & Park meets Bollywood in this hilarious and heartfelt novel about two Indian-American teens whose parents conspire to arrange their marriage.

Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

About the Author


Sandhya Menon is the New York Times bestselling author of When Dimple Met RishiFrom Twinkle, with Love; and There’s Something About Sweetie. A full-time dog-servant and part-time writer, she makes her home in the foggy mountains of Colorado. Visit her online at SandhyaMenon.com.

Praise For…


A YALSA 2018 Best Fiction for Young Adults Selection
An ALA 2018 Amelia Bloomer List Selection
An NPR Best Book of 2017
A Buzzfeed Best YA Book of 2017
A Kirkus Best Teen Book of 2017
A School Library Journal Best Young Adult Book of 2017
A Chicago Public Library Best Teen Book of 2017
A Bustle Best YA Novel of 2017
A PopSugar Best Young Adult Novel of 2017
A Paste Magazine Best Young Adult Novel of 2017
A Book Riot Best Book of 2017
A B&N Teen Blog Best YA Novel of 2017
A Summer 2017 Top Ten Indie Next Pick
A Junior Library Guild Selection


“Effervescent.” —Chicago Tribune

“Full of warm characters and sweet romance.” Entertainment Weekly

“Get ready to fall in love with Dimple Shah and Rishi Patel.” HelloGiggles

“Adorable.” —Buzzfeed

“Deliciously quirky, funny, and nerdy.” —Bustle

“Charming and heartwarming.” —PopSugar

“Utterly delightful.” —BookRiot

“Heartwarming, empathetic, and often hilariousa delightful read.”Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“A vibrant, joyous, funny love story.” —VOYA, starred review

“The strength of the story comes from its blending of Indian culture and values into a modern-day romance that scores of readers can enjoy.” School Library Journal

“Bright and funny.” Publishers Weekly

“Nuanced and thoughtful . . . will melt the hearts of readers.” Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9781481478687
ISBN-10: 1481478680
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication Date: May 30th, 2017
Pages: 384
Language: English