The Night Guest (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
The Night Guest Cover Image
Please email or write store for pricing and availability information.
Special Request - May Not Be Available

Staff Reviews

"The Night Guest
is a stealthily stunning debut novel by Australian writer Fiona
McFarlane. Ruth is an elderly widow living alone by the beach, believing
that a tiger is visiting her home in the night. She is confused and
off-kilter, though managing well enough until Frida arrives, announcing
she is there as a caregiver, assigned to Ruth by the government. No Mary
Poppins, her surprising appearance and takeover of Ruth's life lead to
questions about truth, reality, loyalty and friendship. These two
complicated and compelling characters drew me into their lives and left
me both shaken and awed." ~Cathy L.

— Cathy is our lead buyer at Tattered Cover


Ruth is widowed, her sons are grown, and she lives in an isolated beach house outside town. Her routines are few and small. One day a stranger arrives at her door, looking as if she has been blown in from the sea. This woman--Frida--claims to be a care worker sent by the government. Ruth lets her in.

Now that Frida is in the house, is Ruth right to fear the tiger she hears on the prowl at night, far from its jungle habitat? Why do memories of her childhood in Fiji press upon her with increasing urgency? How far can she trust this mysterious woman, Frida, who seems to carry her own troubled past? And how far can Ruth trust herself?

The Night Guest, Fiona McFarlane's hypnotic first novel, is no simple tale of a crime committed and a mystery solved. This is a story that soars above its own suspense and tells us, with exceptional grace and beauty, about aging, love, trust, dependence, and fear; about processes of colonization; and about things (and people) in places they shouldn't be. Here is a new writer who comes to us fully formed, creating wonders with language, renewing our faith in the power of fiction to describe the mysterious workings of our minds.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781480565029
ISBN-10: 1480565024
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Publication Date: October 1st, 2013
Language: English