Marie Antoinette: The Journey (Compact Disc)

Marie Antoinette: The Journey Cover Image
Please email or write store for pricing and availability information.
Special Request - May Not Be Available


France’s beleaguered queen, Marie Antoinette, wrongly accused of uttering the infamous “Let them eat cake,” was the subject of ridicule and curiosity even before her death; she has since been the object of debate and speculation and the fascination so often accorded tragic figures in history. Married in mere girlhood, this essentially lighthearted, privileged, but otherwise unremarkable child was thrust into an unparalleled time and place, and was commanded by circumstance to play a significant role in history. Antonia Fraser’s lavish and engaging portrait of Marie Antoinette, one of the most recognizable women in European history, excites compassion and regard for all aspects of her subject, immersing the reader not only in the coming-of-age of a graceful woman, but also in the unraveling of an era.

About the Author

Antonia Fraser is the author of numerous novels and historical works including "Marie Antoinette," "The Wives of Henry VIII," "Mary Queen of Scots," and "Faith and Treason." She is also famous for her Jemima Shore series of mysteries. She and her husband, Harold Pinter, live in London. "From the Trade Paperback edition."

Praise For…

“Fascinating . . . the court at Versailles comes alive.” –The Washington Post

“Colorful, fluently narrated. . . . A touching, psychologically believable portrait.” –The Wall Street Journal

“Absorbing as ever. Fraser’s blend of insight and research persuade us that this unfortunate queen deserves neither the vilification nor the idealization she has received.” –The New Yorker

Product Details
ISBN: 9780739340066
Publisher: Random House Audio
Publication Date: September 19th, 2006