Ever Since (Hardcover)

Ever Since By Alena Bruzas Cover Image

Ever Since (Hardcover)

$18.99


Available to Order
An intense, beautiful debut about the power of finding your voice and sharing your story after trauma. Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Kathleen Glasgow.

Seventeen-year-old Virginia makes bad choices. In fact, she’s That Kind of Girl, according to the whispers. But as long as she has her tight group of best friends by her side, she’s able to ignore the gossipers. Until she finds herself spending time with Rumi, Poppy’s boyfriend. Breaking with tradition, she doesn’t hook up with Rumi. Worse, she falls in love with him.

While Virginia and Rumi’s relationship grows in secret, she discovers that his little sister, Lyra, is being groomed for abuse. The soon-to-be-abuser is a respected member of the community, and only Virginia knows who he is and what he does. If she stays quiet, Lyra will become a victim. But coming forward feels equally impossible.
Debut author Alena Bruzas grew up in Seattle and currently lives in Lincoln, Nebraska. She hopes her writing will find the people who need it most.
 
Product Details ISBN: 9780593616178
ISBN-10: 0593616170
Publisher: Rocky Pond Books
Publication Date: May 23rd, 2023
Pages: 288
Language: English
★ "Bruzas' debut novel is at once gritty and tender, exploring boundaries, friendship, and self esteem . . . Bruzas handles the complex plot deftly, and the crowning achievement is when the story Virginia tells herself is her own." —Booklist, starred review

"Lyrical prose combines with a searing indictment of how society treats young women." —Kirkus

"A powerful story of childhood trauma and what it means to confront sexual assault, Bruzas’s debut novel addresses the complexities of survival and the importance of a strong circle of support." —School Library Journal