Thank You, Omu! (Hardcover)

Thank You, Omu! Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
Tattered Cover Book Store Colfax Ave
5 on hand, as of Oct 22 9:01am
(JVF PIC BKS)
Tattered Cover Book Store Historic LoDo
4 on hand, as of Oct 22 9:01am
(JVF PIC BKS)
Tattered Cover Book Store Aspen Grove
2 on hand, as of Oct 22 9:01am
(JVF PIC BKS)

Description


In this remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street and Extra Yarn as well as for the Thanksgiving season, a generous woman is rewarded by her community.

Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew! One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers a portion of her meal. Soon the pot is empty. Has she been so generous that she has nothing left for herself?

Debut author-illustrator Oge Mora brings to life a heartwarming story of sharing and community in colorful cut-paper designs as luscious as Omu's stew, with an extra serving of love. An author's note explains that "Omu" (pronounced AH-moo) means "queen" in the Igbo language of her parents, but growing up, she used it to mean "Grandma." This book was inspired by the strong female role models in Oge Mora's life.

About the Author


Oge Mora graduated from the Rhode Island School of Design with a BFA in illustration. When not painting in her studio, Oge is in the kitchen cooking her late grandmother's recipes. She lives in Providence, Rhode Island, and invites you to visit her website at www.ogemora.com.

Praise For…


[*] "A memorable tale of community and the unexpected rewards of sharing."—School Library Journal, starred review


[*]"A lovely story of giving and community founded in Nigerian culture. Delectable."
Kirkus Reviews, starred review


[*] "Mora [is] a major new talent.... Rhythmic, refrainlike...this sweet story of inclusivity, gratitude, and delicious fellowship is also a feast for the eyes."
Publishers Weekly, starred review


"A great choice...for introducing the concept of sharing."—Booklist

"A joyous homage... Mora's art casually yet vividly reminds readers of the diversity we encounter all around us, presenting her characters in all hues while acknowledging multiple languages in various cut-outs throughout."—Shelf Awareness


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316431248
ISBN-10: 0316431249
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 2nd, 2018
Pages: 40
Language: English