Unladylike Rules of Attraction: A Marleigh Sisters Novel (The Marleigh Sisters #2) (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Unladylike Rules of Attraction: A Marleigh Sisters Novel (The Marleigh Sisters #2) By Amita Murray Cover Image

Unladylike Rules of Attraction: A Marleigh Sisters Novel (The Marleigh Sisters #2) (Paperback)

$18.99


Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the The Marleigh Sisters series.

From the author of Unladylike Lessons in Love comes the second spectacular novel in the Marleigh Sisters series, following Anya as she must marry in order to inherit a fortune…and fight her attraction to the man who stands in her way.

Anya Marleigh is a singer and sitar player in Queen Charlotte’s court. She is left a fortune by Dowager Countess Budleigh, one of her elderly clients who used to hire her for musical evenings. But there is a condition attached. Anya must marry before her next birthday if she wants to see any of the fortune. The executor of the will is an insufferably conceited man who must consent to her marriage—if he doesn’t give his consent, the fortune reverts to him.

But Damian Ashton is only part of the problem. The Budleigh family see Anya as a usurper. They believe the fortune is rightfully theirs, and they will do all in their power—including accusing Anya of murder and Damian of some dubious and criminal dealings—to get their hands on the fortune. Now Anya must do everything she can to thwart their efforts, save herself from the gallows, and at the same time, resist the powerful attraction she feels towards Damian—who surely is only interested in keeping the Budleigh money.

Can Anya sort out the tangle—or must she lose her heart to find her fortune?   


Amita Murray lives in London and can be found writing and tweeting about life and chocolate. Her novels take you on a romp through the edgier streets of Regency England. Her Arya Winters mysteries are under a TV option. Her mystery novel Thirteenth Night won the Exeter Novel Prize and her short story “A Heist in Three Acts” appeared in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine. She’s been writer-in-residence with the British Council, Spread the Word, Leverhulme, and Literature Works, and she is committed to finding that magic button that creates more diversity in publishing.


Product Details ISBN: 9780063296527
ISBN-10: 0063296527
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: May 14th, 2024
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: The Marleigh Sisters

“Sizzling romance with a splash of intrigue.” — Julia Quinn on Unladylike Lessons in Love

"Lila Marleigh is a smart, unconventional and independent English-Indian beauty who controls what’s allowed into her iced champagne punch, her gaming establishment and her life… till Ivor Tristram turns up and yes, it’s a romance and mystery and Lila is charming, but it’s the painful secret at the heart of her family that leaves me wanting even more. Are the Marleighs going to be the next Bridgertons? I can only hope!" — Ovidia Yu, author of The Crown Colony Series and Aunty Lee’s Delights, on Unladylike Lessons in Love

“A superbly crafted historical novel, and a romance that doubles up as a mystery, with a delicious Indian twist—what’s not to love? Amita Murray’s brilliant take on a traditional Regency romance is smoking hot—and heartbreakingly realistic about the racial and class divide that dominated 18th century English society. I can’t wait to read the next book.” — Harini Nagendra, author of The Bangalore Detectives Club, on Unladylike Lessons in Love

"Amita Murray brings a multifaceted Regency London vividly to life in this oh-so-steamy romance featuring a captivating heroine, a sexy hero, and a high-stakes mystery. A stay-up-til-dawn page-turner!" — Felicity George, author of A Lady’s Risk, on Unladylike Lessons in Love

“Murray (‘Arya Winters’ mystery series) makes her romance debut with this first series installment, a Regency romance that doubles as a moving mystery. Rich, realistic detail immerses readers in all manner of London locales, from regal to rat-infested. The narrative is both charming and charged with suspense, yielding a captivating and compelling reading experience. This book will appeal to readers seeking a multicultural historical romance heavy on adrenaline and intrigue. Recommended for fans of Sarah MacLean, Eva Leigh, and Julia Quinn.” — Library Journal on Unladylike Lessons in Love

"This romantic adventure bolts from the first page while following professional hostess Lila Marleigh as she untangles a crime and finds lust—or is it love? You’ll have to finish this in one sitting—call in sick!" — Sumi Hahn, author of The Mermaid from Jeju, on Unladylike Lessons in Love