The Space between Here & Now (Hardcover)

The Space between Here & Now By Sarah Suk Cover Image

The Space between Here & Now (Hardcover)

$19.99


Available to Order

Perfect for fans of They Both Die at the End and You’ve Reached Sam, this gripping, atmospheric YA novel follows a teen with a mysterious condition that transports her to the past when she smells certain scents linked to specific memories.

Seventeen-year-old Aimee Roh has Sensory Time Warp Syndrome, a rare condition that causes her to time travel to a moment in her life when she smells something linked to that memory. Her dad is convinced she’ll simply grow out of it if she tries hard enough, but Aimee’s fear of vanishing at random has kept her from living a normal life.

When Aimee disappears for nine hours into a memory of her estranged mom—a moment Aimee has never remembered before—she becomes distraught. Not only was this her longest disappearance yet, but the memory doesn’t match up with the story of how her mom left—at least, not the version she’s always heard from her dad.

Desperate for answers, Aimee travels to Korea, where she unravels the mystery of her memories, the truth about her mother, and the reason she keeps returning to certain moments in her life. Along the way, she realizes she’ll need to reconcile her past in order to save her present.

From acclaimed author Sarah Suk comes an aching, powerful exploration of memory, grief, and the painful silences we must overcome to discover our truest selves. 

Sarah Suk (pronounced like soup with a K) lives in Vancouver, Canada, where she writes stories and admires mountains. She is the author of the young adult novels Meet Me at Blue Hour, The Space between Here & Now, and Made in Korea as well as the cowriter of John Cho’s middle grade novel Troublemaker. When she’s not writing, you can find her taking film photos or eating a bowl of bingsu. You can visit Sarah online at sarahsuk.com.

"Aimee and Junho’s quippy banter, interspersed with heavier conversations about their families, culminates in a natural romance that’s easy to root for, though Aimee’s richly wrought character arc remains the focus of this unique take on travel, grief, and connection." — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"An intriguing mix of fantasy and realism that lures readers in with the promise of magic and keeps them engaged with emotionally resonant themes." — BookPage (starred review)

“The perfect love letter to Korea, to memories, and to families lost and found. This is the book I needed as a teen.” — ?Axie Oh, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea and XOXO

“Haunting, poignant, and achingly beautiful, The Space Between Here & Now is a tale about family, grief, and love. It's an absolute must read.”  — June Hur, bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author of The Red Palace

"A beautifully moving portrayal of memory, family, and the courage to find ourselves. Suk weaves vivid descriptions and rich details throughout, creating a transportive, immersive read that kept me turning pages late into the night." — Rachel Griffin, New York Times bestselling author of Bring Me Your Midnight

"Evocative and original." — Kirkus Reviews

"Compelling and realistic." — Booklist