My Flawless Life (Hardcover)

My Flawless Life By Yvonne Woon Cover Image

My Flawless Life (Hardcover)

$19.99


Available to Order

Yvonne Woon, author of If You, Then Me, has crafted a slow-burn thriller about fixing—our friends, ourselves, and our complicated pasts. For fans of Allegedly and We Were Liars, My Flawless Life features a compelling narrator who grapples with the secrets of her private school classmates as well as her own life.

At the most elite private school in Washington, DC., whenever anyone has a problem that they need to go away, they hire Hana Yang Lerner.

Hana is a fixer. She knows who to call, what to say, and how to make sure secrets stay where they belong—buried. She can fix anything. Except her own life, which was destroyed when her father, senator Skip Lerner, was arrested for an accident that left one woman nearly dead.

Now Hana’s reputation is ruined and her friends are gone. So when she gets a job from an anonymous client called “Three” to follow her former best friend, Luce Herrera, Hana realizes this might be her way of getting back her old life.

But the dangerous thing about digging is that you never know what you’ll unearth. As Hana uncovers a dark truth about her supposedly flawless classmates, she’s forced to face a secret of her own.

* A Junior Library Guild Selection *



Yvonne Woon holds an MFA from Columbia University and is the author of the Dead Beautiful series. Originally from Massachusetts, she spent three years in Silicon Valley, where she worked as a dog walker for tech elite. Other than writing, it was the best job she’s ever had. She currently resides in Atlanta, Georgia.


Product Details ISBN: 9780063008694
ISBN-10: 0063008696
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: February 14th, 2023
Pages: 352
Language: English

"This gripping mystery is deepened and complicated by explorations of Hana’s trauma and relationships. The slow burn allows room for character development that elevates the novel. Thought-provoking high school drama with dark, serious undertones." — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Woon (If You, Then Me) crafts a meticulously plotted mystery entrenched in high-society scandal and high school drama and peopled by complex, ever-evolving protagonists. It’s a blistering commentary on privilege and wealth." — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Woon's novel is compelling from start to finish, helped along by Hana’s strong narrative voice, magnetic personality, and sharp mind. The mystery is deliciously twisty and unexpected. Themes of interconnectivity and a haunted past, combined with the nuances of each character and the mystery itself, all move this thriller past familiar tropes and will certainly challenge the teen who thinks they can predict the ending a mile away." — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

"Woon fuses a well-told story depicting the secret lives of elite high-school teenagers with a hardboiled detective tale. The result is a hugely refreshing read. Full of twists and double-crosses, the story never settles into predictability. Even better is the strong voice of Hana, an unreliable narrator hiding the pain of her father’s crime under a cool mercenary verve. This book has everything a fan of YA mystery could want." — Booklist

PRAISE FOR IF YOU, THEN ME: "This page-turner offers a peek into the dark side of Silicon Valley and sheds light on issues hidden beneath the glitz of startup culture, including old-boy networks, unsustainable lifestyles, and the lure of promises that are too good to be true. A riveting cautionary tale."  — Kirkus Reviews

“[. . . ] Woon (the Dead Beautiful series) aptly explores real obstacles that women of color face in tech through Xia’s voice, detailing Silicon Valley as fast-paced, chaotic, and sometimes shallow."  — Publishers Weekly

"Really, this story has it all—secrets, schemes, plot twists, a mystery aspect as we try to clue together who Xia’s anonymous online friend is, as well as a sweet romance that made my heart soar . . . An original and fast-paced story of loneliness and found family, exploitation of young minds and the power of such individuals, perfect for any reader who wants to see more women in tech!"  — The Nerd Daily