Inheritance: A Visual Poem (Hardcover)

Inheritance: A Visual Poem By Elizabeth Acevedo, Andrea Pippins (Illustrator) Cover Image

Inheritance: A Visual Poem (Hardcover)

$16.99


On Our Shelves Now
Colfax Ave - Open Every Day 10am-6pm
2 on hand, as of Aug 9 10:33pm
(JVF YA POETRY)

They tell me to “fix” my hair.

And by fix, they mean straighten, they mean whiten;

but how do you fix this shipwrecked

history of hair?

In her most famous spoken-word poem, author of the Pura Belpré-winning novel-in-verse The Poet X Elizabeth Acevedo embraces all the complexities of Black hair and Afro-Latinidad—the history, pain, pride, and powerful love of that inheritance.

Paired with full-color illustrations by artist Andrea Pippins in a format that will appeal to fans of Mahogany L. Browne’s Black Girl Magic or Jason Reynolds’s For Everyone, this poem can now be read in a vibrant package, making it the ideal gift, treasure, or inspiration for readers of any age.


Elizabeth Acevedo is the author of The Poet X—which won the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, the Pura Belpré Award, the Boston Globe–Horn Book Award, and the Walter Award—as well as With the Fire on High and Clap When You Land. She is a National Poetry Slam champion and holds an MFA in creative writing from the University of Maryland. Acevedo lives with her partner in Washington, DC. You can find out more about her at www.acevedowrites.com.


Product Details ISBN: 9780062931948
ISBN-10: 0062931946
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2022
Pages: 48
Language: English

"An incredible amount of reflection appears in this slim volume, making this a wonderful choice for group discussions. Brave, sharp, and powerful." — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"In this small book, every square inch of every page is full of color and visual depictions of the poem's evocative lines. The palette in Pippin's illustrations—every shade of brown and warm terracotta earth tones—echoes the poem's sentiments... [a] beautiful, inviting presentation of Acevedo's poem." — Booklist (starred review)

"In spoken-word lines that explicate the tension between what people say and what they mean, Acevedo (Clap When You Land) confronts the cultural specter of hair-related prejudice through the lens of colonial history and Afro-Dominican identity." — Publishers Weekly (starred review)