Cow Boy Is NOT a Cowboy (Hardcover)

Cow Boy Is NOT a Cowboy By Gregory Barrington, Gregory Barrington (Illustrator) Cover Image

Cow Boy Is NOT a Cowboy (Hardcover)

$17.99


On Our Shelves Now
Aspen Grove - Open Every Day 10am-6pm
1 on hand, as of Sep 28 2:33am
(JVF PIC BKS)
Westminster
1 on hand, as of Sep 28 2:03am
(JVF PIC BKS)
Colorado Springs
2 on hand, as of Sep 20 4:18pm
(JVF PIC BKS)

Meet Goat Girl and Merle: an irresistible pair of characters who show young readers that the best friendships are built on more than first impressions.

Goat Girl—an adventurous goat—lives on Humdrum Farm, a place where everything is ordinary, and she's looking for some excitement . When she meets Merle—a bull—she mistakes him for a cowboy since he’s both a cow and a boy. Cowboys aren’t ordinary so Goat Girl can’t wait to introduce herself. 

“HOWDY COWBOY!"

An annoyed Merle insists he's not a cowboy.

But will this not-a-cowboy change his mind when his rootin’-tootin’ dream has a chance to come true?

Saddle up and find out in this hilarious, rollicking unlikely friendship story perfect for fans of Jory John’s Goodnight Already!, Ryan T. Higgins’s Mother Bruce, and Suzanne Lang’s Grumpy Monkey.

Colorado Book Award Winner!

Gregory Barrington lives at the foot of the Rocky Mountains with his just-right family and four dogs that have noses that are too cold and breath that is too hot. While he has seen bears outside his front door, he has never let them into his house. Gregory’s first book, Cow Boy Is NOT a Cowboy, was the winner of the thirtieth annual Colorado Book Award and received a starred review from School Library Journal.



Gregory Barrington lives at the foot of the Rocky Mountains with his just-right family and four dogs that have noses that are too cold and breath that is too hot. While he has seen bears outside his front door, he has never let them into his house. Gregory’s first book, Cow Boy Is NOT a Cowboy, was the winner of the thirtieth annual Colorado Book Award and received a starred review from School Library Journal.

Product Details ISBN: 9780062891365
ISBN-10: 0062891367
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: October 20th, 2020
Pages: 40
Language: English

Barrington’s debut is a fun farm fable with softly modeled cartoons that are full of zip (well, at least when Goat Girl is around) and expressive (mostly expressing boredom) creatures. Little listeners, who’ll be anything but bored, will likely hope for further Goat Girl and Cow Boy adventures. This chipper tale of an unlikely farm friendship is sure to bring a smile.  — Kirkus Reviews

A great lesson in individuality delivered in a charming fashion. This picture book debut is a must have for all collections. — School Library Journal (starred review)