Everless (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Everless Cover Image

Everless (Paperback)

$9.99


Available to Order - Usually Arrives in Our Store in 4 to 7 Days

Staff Reviews


Jules and her father were once servants at Everless, the grand estate of rich aristocrats, the Gerlings, but were cast out after a fateful accident a decade ago. No one resents the Gerlings more than Jules.  The cool premise is that rich people have the ability to literally steal time out of the blood of others, namely poor people.  With her beloved father fading fast, Jules decides to take a job in the kitchen at the estate to try to save him and to answer questions about what happened long ago and just what the heck is up with her childhood friend and crush Roan, who is set to marry the daughter of a creepy queen.  Lots of unexpected twists and turns and intrigue.  I haven’t read one this fully realized and intriguing in a while and am reminded of how I first felt about HUNGER GAMES, DIVERGENT and THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS. 

— Jenny S., Publisher Rep

New York Times bestseller!

"Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time." —Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

“Holland’s lush, intricately drawn world hides an undercurrent of darkness underneath a veneer of beauty and finery.”—Publishers Weekly

In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood, bound to iron, and consumed to add time to one’s own lifespan. The rich aristocracy, like the Gerlings, tax the poor to the hilt, extending their own lives by centuries.

Jules and her father were servants at Everless, the Gerlings’ palatial estate, until a fateful accident a forced them to flee in the dead of night. When Jules discovers that her father is dying, she knows that she must return to Everless to earn more time for him before she loses him forever.

But going back to Everless brings more danger—and temptation—than Jules could have ever imagined. Caught in a tangle of violent secrets, Jules must find the power to change her fate—and the fate of time itself.

Praised by Kirkus as “a heady, addicting page-turner” and “utterly absorbing”! Fans of Victoria Aveyard, Kendare Blake, and Stephanie Garber will devour the action and romance of Holland’s debut novel—now available in paperback. Plus don't miss the thrilling sequel, Evermore!

Sara Holland grew up between small-town Minnesota and the countless fictional worlds of books. She graduated from Wesleyan University and worked in a tea shop, a dentist’s office, and a state capitol building before heading to New York to work in publishing. These days, she can be found exploring the city’s bookstores or finding new ways to put caffeine in her bloodstream. Everless is her debut novel and is followed by Evermore. Visit her online at www.sarahollandwrites.com.

Product Details ISBN: 9780062653673
ISBN-10: 0062653679
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: December 4th, 2018
Pages: 384
Language: English

“Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. An intoxicating blend of blood, secrets, and haunting mythology, Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time.” — Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

“Debut author Holland builds this world effortlessly. The author captures a fierce and solid female protagonist in Jules and surprising plot twists and unexpected villains make this series opener the next big thing. An action-packed, must-have fantasy for all YA shelves.” — School Library Journal

“Holland’s lush, intricately drawn world hides an undercurrent of darkness underneath a veneer of beauty and finery, and the twists are genuinely surprising. Jules’s first-person narration reveals a smart, resilient young woman determined to reconcile her past with an uncertain future. Readers will eagerly await her next journey.” — Publishers Weekly

“Propelled by inventive lore and magic, Jules’ story is a heady, addicting page-turner—especially for readers who prize worldbuilding over romance. Utterly absorbing; a must for fans of Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass (2012) and its sequels.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Holland’s debut is set in an intricate and immersive fantasy world. The concept of Everless is refreshing and unique, and readers will be desperate to figure out Jules’ history as she unravels it.” — Booklist

“Like her protagonist, Sara Holland has a unique gift for manipulating time. Readers will lose themselves in her stunning prose for hours on end and be hungry for more when they reach the last page.” Laura Sebastian, New York Times bestselling author of Ash Princess