Denis Ever After (Hardcover)

Denis Ever After Cover Image
$16.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Written by award-winning author Tony Abbott and perfect for fans of The Ethan I Was Before and The Thing About Jellyfish, this bittersweet middle grade novel follows the ghost of Denis Egan as he teams up with his living twin brother to solve the mystery of his death.

Denis Egan is dead. 

He’s okay with that. It’s been five years since he died, and the place where souls go is actually pretty nice. Sure, there are some things about his life and how it ended he can’t quite recall, but that’s how it’s supposed to be. Remembering could prevent Denis from moving on to whatever’s next. 

However, something is standing in his way. His twin brother Matt can’t let go of him, and as long as the living are holding on to his memory, Denis can’t rest in peace.

To uncover the truth about what happened that day five years before, Denis returns to his hometown and teams up with Matt. But visiting for too long has painful consequences for Denis, and Matt’s renewed interest in his brother’s passing is driving a wedge between his still-grieving parents.

Can the two boys solve the mystery of Denis’s death without breaking apart the family he’s left behind? 

Praise For…


“Abbott steadily guides readers through a dark quagmire of questions, anger, and fraying family bonds that are nevertheless held together by love. Surprising twists and turns braid the story’s disparate parts into a revelatory whole that brings healing to its characters and won’t be forgotten by its readers anytime soon.”

“Luminous and revelatory. A riveting mystery that I couldn’t put down for the life (or death) of me.”

“A brutally moving and deeply layered story full of heart and hope.”

“A taut and twisted murder mystery with a profound reflection on grief and learning to move on. Denis comes to see the “thousand, thousand threads” that bind people and realizes that the powerful connections forged through love cannot be broken, even in death.”

“Abbott keeps the tension high and the mystery dark and unsettling, leavening it with several flashes of humor and intriguing imaginative speculation about the dead. Page-turning.”

Praise for Tony Abbott: “A touching story of friendship that is easy to read yet hard to forget.”

★ “Beautifully crafted and written.”

“Full of mystery and intrigue, this book had me completely transfixed.”

“The book is so enticing that readers will go along even when the going is rough.”

“With every narrative turn, Tony Abbott brings these never-before-seen perspectives into view... Untold. Unforgettable.”

“With its portrayal of a family on the verge of falling apart following the death of a child and the young person’s narration from the afterlife, this suggests The Lovely Bones shaped for a younger audience…the story is handled with remarkable grace.”


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062491220
ISBN-10: 0062491229
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: July 24th, 2018
Pages: 320
Language: English