Ramona Blue (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Ramona Blue Cover Image
$9.99
Available to Order - Usually Arrives in Our Store in 4 to 7 Days

Staff Reviews


Ramona is one of the most relatable characters I have come across in young adult literature. Ramona Blue by author Julie Murphy ("Dumplin'") is not to be missed. Anybody who knows the heartbreak of young love, the less than easy adolescence or the challenges of understanding yourself during transitional periods, will undoubtedly be able to relate to Ramona Blue, caught up in not only her own problems, but the problems of her family and her (ex?) girlfriend.

— Mia, Tattered Cover Teen Advisory Board member

In Ramona Blue, Julie Murphy plunges the reader straight into an engrossing, well-written story. A story that feels more like a summer memory from years ago than reading a book. While main character Ramona is not by any means generic -- rather a six-foot-tall blue-haired enigma -- she creates a deep nostalgia within the reader, like she was your best friend in another life. Murphy’s descriptive language is languid and beautiful and melancholy and entirely blue. Every few pages, there is one sentence that takes my breath away and I have to read it over a few times and let it resonate within me. I instantly fell in love with Freddie, his character was sweet and charming and almost too good to be true. Freddie felt like a silver-lining in a muddy, wet town. I adored the language, the characters, the story and would definitely recommend it to my friends and I will definitely read it again. 

— Abigail M. YA Book Reviewer for Tattered Cover

This book has easily become one of my favorites. Ramona, who stands 6 foot tall and has blue hair, will easily stand out in your mind as a strong female protagonist who’s just trying to figure out her role in the world. This book deftly addresses what it’s like to attempt to be strong for others and still struggle with how to be strong for yourself. With thoughts on identities and relations to other people, Ramona Blue is a book about how fluid our lives are. A feel good book that also makes you think.

— Zoe J., Tattered Cover Teen Advisory Board member

Description


The fourth novel from Julie Murphy, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’—now a Netflix feature film starring Danielle Macdonald and Jennifer Aniston, with a soundtrack by Dolly Parton!

For fans of Rainbow Rowell and Morgan Matson, Julie Murphy has created another fearless heroine, Ramona Blue, in a gorgeously evocative novel about family, friendship, and how sometimes love can be more fluid than you first think.

Ramona was only five years old when Hurricane Katrina changed her life forever.

Since then, it’s been Ramona and her family against the world. Standing over six feet tall with unmistakable blue hair, Ramona is sure of three things: she likes girls, she’s fiercely devoted to her family, and she knows she’s destined for something bigger than the trailer she calls home in Eulogy, Mississippi.

But juggling multiple jobs, her flaky mom, and her well-meaning but ineffectual dad forces her to be the adult of the family. Now, with her sister, Hattie, pregnant, responsibility weighs more heavily than ever.

The return of her childhood friend Freddie brings a welcome distraction. Ramona’s friendship with the former competitive swimmer picks up exactly where it left off, and soon he’s talked her into joining him for laps at the pool.

But as Ramona falls in love with swimming, her feelings for Freddie begin to shift too, which is the last thing she expected. With her growing affection for Freddie making her question her sexual identity, Ramona begins to wonder if perhaps she likes girls and guys or if this new attraction is just a fluke.

Either way, Ramona will discover that, for her, life and love are more fluid than they seem.

About the Author


Julie Murphy lives in North Texas with her husband who loves her, her dog who adores her, and her cats who tolerate her. After several wonderful years in the library world, Julie now writes full-time. When she’s not writing or reliving her reference desk glory days, she can be found watching made-for-TV movies, hunting for the perfect slice of cheese pizza, and planning her next great travel adventure. She is also the author of the young adult novels Dumplin’ (now a film on Netflix), Puddin’, Ramona Blue, and Side Effects May Vary. You can visit Julie at www.juliemurphywrites.com.

Praise For…


★ “An exquisite, thoughtful exploration of the ties that bind and the fluidity of relationships, sexuality, and life.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

★ “Julie Murphy knows a thing or two about navigating the worlds of girls on the brink of self-discovery.”
— Booklist (starred review)

“A must-have work that will resonate with teens”
— School Library Journal

“Julie Murphy delivers a fresh and glorious love story that addresses all the complexities of one’s heart. Ramona Blue’s discovery of limitless love is total beauty.”
— Adam Silvera, New York Times bestselling author of More Happy Than Not

Ramona Blue is Julie Murphy’s best book yet. It’s hilarious, it’s heartfelt, and it’s so, so real. I just wish I’d had this book to read during my own teen years!”
— Robin Talley, New York Times bestselling author of Lies We Tell Ourselves

“Murphy creates a place that feels deeply real…a great setting for a coming-of-age story, as Ramona realizes that she’s capable of more than she imagined and that some categories are more fluid than she’d thought.”
— Publishers Weekly

“In a wonderful, complicated way, Ramona Blue turns the queer coming-of-age trope on its head.”
— Brightly


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062418364
ISBN-10: 006241836X
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: May 8th, 2018
Pages: 448
Language: English