2013 PEN Literary Awards

PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize ($25,000): To an author whose debut work—a first novel or collection of short stories published in 2012—represents distinguished literary achievement and suggests great promise. Winner: Sergio de la Pava for A Naked Singularity (University of Chicago Press).

PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction ($10,000): To an author of a
distinguished book of general nonfiction possessing notable literary merit and critical perspective and illuminating important contemporary issues which has been published in the United States during 2011 or 2012. Winner: Katherine Boo for Behind the Beautiful Forevers (Random House).

PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay ($10,000): For a book of
essays published in 2012 that exemplifies the dignity and esteem that the essay form imparts to literature. Winner: Robert Hass for What Light Can Do (Ecco).

PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award ($10,000): For a book of literary
nonfiction on the subject of the physical or biological sciences published in 2012. Winner: Leonard Mlodinow for Subliminal (Vintage Books).

PEN Open Book Award ($5,000): For an exceptional book-length work of literature by an author of color published in 2012. Winners: Gina Apostol for Gun Dealers’ Daughter (W.W.  Norton & Co.) and Kevin Young for The Grey Album (Graywolf Press).

PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld
Award for Biography ($5,000): For a distinguished biography published in 2012. Winner: Tom Reiss for The Black Count (Broadway Books).

PEN/ESPN Award for Literary Sports Writing ($5,000): To honor a nonfiction book on the subject of sports published in 2012. Winner: Frank Deford for Over Time (Grove Press).

PEN/Steven Kroll Award for Picture Book Writing ($5,000): To a writer for an exceptional story illustrated in a picture book published in 2012. Winner: Michelle Markel for The Fantastic Jungles of Henri Rousseau (Eerdmans), illustrated by Amanda Hall.

PEN Award for Poetry in Translation ($3,000): For a book-length translation of poetry into English published in 2012. Winner: Molly Weigel for The Shock of the Lenders and Other Poems by Jorge Santiago Perednik (Action Books).

PEN Translation Prize ($3,000): For a book-length translation of prose into English published in 2012. Winner: Donald O. White for The Island of Second Sight by Albert Vigoleis Thelen (Overlook Press).