World Book Night 2013 discussed on April 22nd

World Book Night is an annual celebration dedicated to spreading the love of reading, person to person. Each year on April 23, tens of thousands of people in the U.S. go out into their communities and give a total of half a million free World Book Night paperbacks to light and non-readers.

An independent panel of booksellers and librarians selects the books, using lists curated by experts in the bookselling and library world. Additionally, each year, givers from the previous year’s World Book Night nominate books for the panel to consider.

The World Book Night U.S. books must meet the following criteria:
Accessible books of quality.
Recently-published books as well as established classics.
Books available in paperback.
Any genre of book – fiction, mysteries, romance, SF/fantasy, classics, poetry, humor, autobiography, and young adult books.
The list overall must have a gender, ethnic, and geographical balance.

Why April 23?A. April 23 is the UNESCO International Day of the Book, as well as Shakespeare’s birthday! It was also chosen in honor of Miguel de Cervantes, who died on April 23, 1616 (the same day as Shakespeare). In the Catalan region of Spain, the day is celebrated by giving a book and a flower to a loved one. World Book Night was first celebrated in the UK and Ireland in 2011; in 2012, it was also celebrated in the USA and Germany.

Tonight, April 22, there are kick-off events all over the country with many of the authors who have graciously forgone their royalties on the thousands of copies of their books that will be given away tomorrow.

The Tattered Cover is thrilled to have one of the authors appearing at our Highlands Ranch store tonight. MARK TWAIN! McAvy Layne, the world renowned Mark Twain scholar will perform and interact with the audience in character as Mark Twain.This year there are 32 World Book Night titles, 2 of which are in Spanish. Here are just a few of the 32:

$5.00
ISBN: 9780486415918
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dover Publications - June 14th, 2001

Hank Morgan finds himself transported back to England's Dark Ages -- where he is immediately captured and sentenced to death at Camelot. Fortunately, he's quick-witted, and in the process of saving his life he turns himself into a celebrity -- winning himself the position of prime minister as well as the lasting enmity of Merlin.


$11.00
ISBN: 9780679734772
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage Books USA - April 3rd, 1991

This will be given out in both Spanish and English.
Acclaimed by critics, beloved by readers of all ages, taught everywhere from inner-city grade schools to universities across the country, and translated all over the world, The House on Mango Street is the remarkable story of Esperanza Cordero. Told in a series of vignettes – sometimes heartbreaking, sometimes deeply joyous – it is the story of a young Latina girl growing up in Chicago, inventing for herself who and what she will become. Few other books in our time have touched so many readers.


$15.00
ISBN: 9781451673319
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - January 10th, 2012

Ray Bradbury’s internationally acclaimed novel Fahrenheit 451 is a masterwork of twentieth-century literature set in a bleak, dystopian future.
Guy Montag is a fireman. In his world, where television rules and literature is on the brink of extinction, firemen start fires rather than put them out. His job is to destroy the most illegal of commodities, the printed book, along with the houses in which they are hidden.
Montag never questions the destruction and ruin his actions produce, returning each day to his bland life and wife, Mildred, who spends all day with her television “family.” But then he meets an eccentric young neighbor, Clarisse, who introduces him to a past where people didn’t live in fear and to a present where one sees the world through the ideas in books instead of the mindless chatter of television.
When Mildred attempts suicide and Clarisse suddenly disappears, Montag begins to question everything he has ever known. He starts hiding books in his home, and when his pilfering is discovered, the fireman has to run for his life.


$15.95
ISBN: 9780618773473
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mariner Books - September 2006

The dust storms that terrorized the High Plains in the darkest years of the Depression were like nothing ever seen before or since.
Timothy Egan’s critically acclaimed account rescues this iconic chapter of American history from the shadows in a tour de force of historical reportage. Following a dozen families and their communities through the rise and fall of the region, Egan tells of their desperate attempts to carry on through blinding black dust blizzards, crop failure, and the death of loved ones. Brilliantly capturing the terrifying drama of catastrophe, Egan does equal justice to the human characters who become his heroes, “the stoic, long-suffering men and women whose lives he opens up with urgency and respect” (New York Times).
In an era that promises ever-greater natural disasters, The Worst Hard Time is “arguably the best nonfiction book yet” (Austin Statesman Journal) on the greatest environmental disaster ever to be visited upon our land and a powerful cautionary tale about the dangers of trifling with nature.


$16.00
ISBN: 9780786888764
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hyperion Books - August 2006

In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, J.R. Moehringer's The Tender Bar is a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar. A national bestseller that was named one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005 by the New York Times.


$10.95
ISBN: 9780425233511
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley Publishing Group - July 7th, 2009

When Jack Mercy died, he bequeaths a ranch worth nearly $20 million to his three daughters, each born of a different marriage. The women are shocked to learn that before they can inherit, they must live together on the ranch for one year, putting their bitterness aside and living like a family.


$16.00
ISBN: 9780743451796
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Washington Square Press - September 17th, 2002

Named one of the 100 favorite mysteries of the century.
Los Angeles, 1948: Easy Rawlins is a black war veteran just fired from his job at a defense plant. Easy is drinking in a friend's bar, wondering how he'll meet his mortgage, when a white man in a linen suit walks in, offering good money if Easy will simply locate Miss Daphne Money, a blonde beauty known to frequent black jazz clubs.


By James Patterson, Laura Park (Illustrator), Chris Tebbetts (With)
$8.00
ISBN: 9780316101691
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little Brown and Company - November 6th, 2012

James Patterson is, along with Ann Patchett, the official spokesperson for World Book Night and a passionate advocate for getting kids to read more.
Rafe Khatchadorian has enough problems at home without throwing his first year of middle school into the mix. Luckily, he's got an ace plan for the best year ever, if only he can pull it off: With his best friend Leonardo the Silent awarding him points, Rafe tries to break every rule in his school's oppressive Code of Conduct. Chewing gum in class-5,000 points! Running in the hallway-10,000 points! Pulling the fire alarm-50,000 points! But when Rafe's game starts to catch up with him, he'll have to decide if winning is all that matters, or if he's finally ready to face the rules, bullies, and truths he's been avoiding.
Blockbuster author James Patterson delivers a genuinely hilarious-and surprisingly poignant-story of a wildly imaginative, one-of-kind kid that you won't soon forget.


$15.00
ISBN: 9780385490818
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor Books - March 13th, 1998

In the world of the near future, who will control women's bodies?
Offred is a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead. She may leave the home of the Commander and his wife once a day to walk to food markets whose signs are now pictures instead of words because women are no longer allowed to read. She must lie on her back once a month and pray that the Commander makes her pregnant, because in an age of declining births, Offred and the other Handmaids are only valued if their ovaries are viable.
Offred can remember the days before, when she lived and made love with her husband Luke; when she played with and protected her daughter; when she had a job, money of her own, and access to knowledge. But all of that is gone now....
Funny, unexpected, horrifying, and altogether convincing, The Handmaid's Tale is at once scathing satire, dire warning, and tour de force.


By Paul Negri (Editor)
$9.95
ISBN: 9780486422527
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dover Publications - September 18th, 2002

This collection of beloved American poems ranges from the earliest examples of the genre by Anne Bradstreet and Phillis Wheatley to the 20th-century verse of Wallace Stevens and William Carlos Williams. Selections include famous poems by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Edgar Allan Poe, Walt Whitman, Emily Dickinson, Robert Frost, Carl Sandburg, T. S. Eliot, and many others.