Colorado Book Awards

Colorado Humanities and Center for the Book announce the finalists for the 25th annual Colorado Book Awards.

2016 Colorado Book Award Finalists


Going Down Grand: Poems from the Canyon by Pete Anderson and Rick Kempa, editors (Lithic Press)
Abbey in America: A Philosopher’s Legacy in a New Century by John A. Murray, editor (University of New Mexico Press)
Stories of Music, Volume 1 by Holly E. Tripp, editor (Timbre Press)  

Children’s Literature

Do Princesses Make Happy Campers? by Carmela LaVigna Coyle, illustrated by Mike Gordon (Taylor Trade Publishing)
A Chicken Followed Me Home by Robin Page (Beach Lane Books)
Ninja, Ninja, Never Stop! by Todd Tuell, illustrated by Tad Carpenter (Abrams Appleseed)

Creative Nonfiction

Grow: Stories from the Urban Food Movement by Stephen Grace (Bangtail Press)
Finding Abbey: The Search for Edward Abbey and His Hidden Desert Grave by Sean Prentiss (University of New Mexico Press)
The Spiral Notebook: The Aurora Theater Shooter and the Epidemic of Mass Violence Committed by American Youth by Stephen and Joyce Singular (Counterpoint)

General Nonfiction

Children of Katrina by Alice Fothergill and Lori Peek (University of Texas Press)
The Republic of Conscience by Gary Hart (Blue Rider Press)
Rust: The Longest War by Jonathan Waldman (Simon & Schuster)

Historical Fiction

The Last Midwife by Sandra Dallas (St. Martin’s Press)
And the Wind Whispered by Dan Jorgensen (Bygone Era Books)
The Shepherdess of Siena by Linda Lafferty (Lake Union Publishing)


Prophets and Moguls, Rangers and Rogues, Bison and Bears: 100 Years of the National Park Service by Heather Hansen (Mountaineers Books)
Colorado: A Historical Atlas by Thomas J. Noel (University of Oklahoma Press)
Old Blue’s Road by James Whiteside (University Press of Colorado)

Juvenile Literature

Book Scavenger by Jennifer Chambliss Bertman  (Henry Holt and Company)
The Lightning Queen by Laura Resau (Scholastic Press)
Look Both Ways in the Barrio Blanco by Judith Robbins Rose (Candlewick Press)

Literary Fiction

How to Walk Away by Lisa Birman (Spuyten Duyvil)
Pickup at Union Station by Gary Reilly (Running Meter Press)
Three Rivers: A Novel by Tiffany Quay Tyson (Thomas Dunne Books)


The Reckoning Stones by Laura Di Silverio (Midnight Ink)
Murder on the Horizon by M.L. Rowland (Berkeley Prime Crime)
Lake of Fire by Mark Stevens (Midnight Ink)


Colorado’s Yampa River by John Fielder and Patrick Tierney (John Fielder Publishing)
Love Songs of Middle Time by C.H. Rockey (CH Rockey and David Hall)
Sage Spirit: The American West at a Crossroads by Dave Showalter (Braided River)


(gentlessness) by Dan Beachy-Quick (Tupelo Press)
The Octopus Game by Nicky Beer (Carnegie Mellon University Press)
All Pilgrim by Stephanie Ford (Four Way Books) 
Bad Fame by Martin McGovern (Able Muse Press)

Science Fiction/Fantasy

Clockwork Lives by Kevin J. Anderson and Neil Peart (ECW Press)
Lord Byron’s Prophecy by Sean Eads (Lethe Press)

Short Story Collection

Night in Erg Chebbi and Other Stories by Edward Hamlin (University of Iowa Press)
The Skull of Pancho Villa and Other Stories by Manuel Ramos (Arte Publico Press)


The Virus by Janelle Diller (WorldTrek Publishing)
Dark Waters by Chris Goff (Crooked Lane Books)
The Comfort of Black by Carter Wilson (Oceanview Publishing)

Young Adult Literature

Audacity by Melanie Crowder (Philomel Books)
Dangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick (Simon & Schuster)
Fig by Sarah Elizabeth Schantz (Margaret K. McElderry Books)


About Colorado Humanities & Center for the Book 

Celebrating its 41st year and its 11th year as host for the Colorado Center for the Book, Colorado Humanities is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit affiliated with the National Endowment for the Humanities, The Center for the Book in the Library of Congress, the Smithsonian Institution, and the national award-winning educational nonprofit Motheread, Inc. Colorado Humanities is the only Colorado organization exclusively dedicated to supporting humanities education for adults and children statewide. With offices in the Denver Technological Center in Greenwood Village, Colorado Humanities works with 300 local program partners throughout the state to design and implement educational programs that best meet each community’s needs. Colorado Humanities' goals are to improve education, strengthen cultural institutions, and enrich community life by inspiring the people of Colorado to explore ideas and appreciate our diverse heritage.
Create Bookshelf: