When Dimple Met Rishi (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
When Dimple Met Rishi Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Tattered Cover Book Store Colfax Ave
32 on hand, as of Nov 22 7:15am
(JVF YA GENERAL)
Tattered Cover Book Store Historic LoDo
13 on hand, as of Nov 22 7:15am
(JVF YA GENERAL)
Tattered Cover Book Store Aspen Grove
10 on hand, as of Nov 22 7:15am
(JVF YA GENERAL)

Staff Reviews


Dimple Shah and Rishi Patel could not be more different. Dimple is rebellious and refuses to conform to her parents standards on what she should be. Rishi is a dutiful son to his parents and fine with whatever they throw his way. So when their parents both agree to send them both to Insomnia Con to hopefully hit it off, Rishi thinks, why not? But Dimple isn't having it. And when they are assigned to the same team, things get interesting. But love has the funniest way of showing itself in the most unexpected places, whether you want it there or not. Sandhya Menon does a sensational job in When Dimple Met Rishi. This book was absolutely fantastic and perfect for fans of The Sun is Also a Star.

— Lexie J., Tattered Cover Teen Advisory Board member

At a coding competition in San Francisco, fate could be at work … or more likely their parents. Dimple wants nothing to do with Rishi, the boy her parents decide should be her groom in an arranged marriage. As the two bond over building an app for the competition and shared experiences in San Francisco and their everyday lives, the characters fall in love with each other and the reader falls in love with the novel. A sweet rom-com with heart and humor throughout, When Dimple Met Rishi is a story to remember.

— Arden H., TC Teen Advisory Board

Description


A New York Times bestseller

"Effervescent." --Chicago Tribune
"Full of warm characters and sweet romance." --Entertainment Weekly
"Get ready to fall in love with Dimple Shah and Rishi Patel." --Hello Giggles
"Adorable." --Buzzfeed
"Deliciously quirky, funny, and nerdy." --Bustle
"Utterly delightful." --BookRiot
"Heartwarming, empathetic, and often hilarious--a delightful read." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

The rom-com that everyone's talking about Eleanor & Park meets Bollywood in this hilarious and heartfelt novel about two Indian-American teens whose parents conspire to arrange their marriage.

Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she's more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma's inexplicable obsession with her finding the "Ideal Indian Husband." Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn't have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers...right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him--wherein he'll have to woo her--he's totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn't mean to start turning the wheels on this "suggested arrangement" so early in their children's lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781481478687
ISBN-10: 1481478680
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication Date: May 30th, 2017
Pages: 384
Language: English