The Diabolic (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Diabolic Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


This book interests the reader with the dynamic of the world and the technology in it. S. J. Kincaid creates a disturbing society not so far in the future. Nemesis is one of the most interesting characters in YA that I have seen in awhile. This book sets a reminder of what it means to love another person, and to accept the person you become through relationships with others, and not see yourself as the person you were raised to be. I loved the story and S. J. Kincaid kept me rooting for the characters; I really loved this book!

— Alina, Teen Advisory Board; Littleton High School, Littleton, CO

Far in to the future the upper classes of humanity live in space and have created diabolics, which aren't fully human and can only love the person they are made to protect.  When the king calls for Sidnoia to come join his court due to her father's illegal behavior her diabolic, Nemesis, goes in her place quickly having to learn how to act like a human to protect Sidnoia.  This beautifully crafted science fiction book is one of my favorites I've read this year with excellent world building, unique characters and leave you wondering as to what really defines humanity.

— Kayla, TC Teen Advisory Board member

In The Diabolic, Nemesis is a diabolic, bonded to Sidonia who is Senator von Impyrean's daughter. Nemesis loves Sidonia, and would give her own life without hesitation to save her. So when Sidonia is summoned to the imperial palace because of her father's beliefs, Nemesis goes in her place to keep her safe. In a court full of coldness and cynicism, the steely Diabolic fits in better than hoped. But with rebellion looming and tension increasing in the empire, Nemesis must make decisions that not only will shape the future of the one she was created to protect, but the entire empire. I loved this book because of the unique protagonist and the fantastic uncertainty of truths. This book would be ideal for fans of Red Queen.

— Lexie J., Tattered Cover Teen Advisory Board member

Description


"The perfect kind of high-pressure adventure." --TeenVogue.com
A New York Times bestseller

Red Queen meets The Hunger Games in this epic novel about what happens when a senator's daughter is summoned to the galactic court as a hostage, but she's really the galaxy's most dangerous weapon in disguise.

A Diabolic is ruthless. A Diabolic is powerful. A Diabolic has a single task: Kill in order to protect the person you've been created for.

Nemesis is a Diabolic, a humanoid teenager created to protect a galactic senator's daughter, Sidonia. The two have grown up side by side, but are in no way sisters. Nemesis is expected to give her life for Sidonia, and she would do so gladly. She would also take as many lives as necessary to keep Sidonia safe.

When the power-mad Emperor learns Sidonia's father is participating in a rebellion, he summons Sidonia to the Galactic court. She is to serve as a hostage. Now, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia. She must become her. Nemesis travels to the court disguised as Sidonia--a killing machine masquerading in a world of corrupt politicians and two-faced senators' children. It's a nest of vipers with threats on every side, but Nemesis must keep her true abilities a secret or risk everything.

As the Empire begins to fracture and rebellion looms closer, Nemesis learns there is something more to her than just deadly force. She finds a humanity truer than what she encounters from most humans. Amidst all the danger, action, and intrigue, her humanity just might be the thing that saves her life--and the empire.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781481472678
ISBN-10: 1481472674
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: November 1st, 2016
Pages: 416
Language: English
Series: Diabolic