House of Cards: A Tale of Hubris and Wretched Excess on Wall Street (Compact Disc)

Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


In March 2008, Bear Stearns, a swashbuckling eighty-four-year-old financial institution, was forced to sell itself to JPMorgan Chase for an outrageously low price in a deal brokered by Treasury Secretary Henry Paulson, who was desperately trying to prevent the impending catastrophic market crash. But mere months before, an industry-wide boom had "the Bear" clocking a record high stock price. How did a giant investment bank with $18 billion in cash on hand disappear in a mere ten days? In this tour de force, Cohan provides a minute-by-minute account of the events that brought America's second Gilded Age to an end.Filled with intimate portraits of the major players, high-end gossip, and smart financial analysis, House of Cards recounts in delicious narrative form the dramatic events behind the fall of Bear Stearns and what it revealed about the financial world's progression from irrational boom to cataclysmic bust. House of Cards is the Rosetta Stone for understanding the dramatic and the unprecedented events that have reshaped Wall Street and global finance in the past two years.

About the Author

William D. Cohan is the bestselling author of "Money and Power", "House of Cards", and "The Last Tycoons". He has appeared on "The Daily Show, Charlie Rose, CBS This Morning, ABC Evening News, Good Morning America", and more. He has also been featured on numerous NPR programs, including "Marketplace, Diane Rehm, Leonard Lopate, " and "Studio 360 with Kurt Anderson. "In addition to being media savvy, Cohan is himself a Duke alum who worked on Wall Street for seventeen years.

ALAN SKLAR has narrated over 75 audiobooks and earned numerous awards for his work. He has also provided the voice for thousands of corporate and medical videos, as well as many radio and TV commercials. He lives with his wife in New York.

Praise For…

"[A] fascinating tale." ---The Wall Street Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9781400141685
ISBN-10: 1400141680
Publisher: Tantor Media Inc
Publication Date: April 2009
Language: English