The Trip to Echo Spring: On Writers and Drinking (Paperback)

On Our Shelves Now
Tattered Cover Book Store Historic LoDo
1 on hand, as of Oct 4 3:39am

January 2014 Indie Next List

“The Trip to Echo Spring is the ideal blend of memoir, literary criticism, and travelogue. Fans of Joan Didion, Susan Sontag, and Geoff Dyer will soon list Olivia Laing as one of their favorite writers. Laing never glamorizes alcoholism; instead, she lifts the romantic veil off the stories we know about some of the most famous drunken scribes and shows just how devastating -- but alluring -- alcohol can be.”
— Michele Filgate, Community Bookstore, Brooklyn, NY


A "New York Times "Notable Book of 2014
A "Time" "Magazine "Notable Book of 2014
Olivia Laing's widely acclaimed account of how writers in the grip of alcoholism created some of the greatest works of American literature
In "The Trip to Echo Spring," Olivia Laing takes a journey across America, examining the links between creativity and alcohol in the work and lives of six extraordinary men: F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, John Berryman, John Cheever, and Raymond Carver. Captivating and highly original, "The Trip to Echo Spring" strips away the myth of the alcoholic writer to reveal the terrible price creativity can exert.

About the Author

Olivia Laing is a writer and critic. Her first book, "To the River", was published by Canongate to wide acclaim and shortlisted for the Ondaatje Prize and the Dolman Travel Book of the Year. She has been the deputy books editor of the "Observer", and writes for "The Guardian", "New Statesman", and "The Times Literary Supplement", among other publications. She is a MacDowell Fellow, and has received grants from the Arts Council and the Authors' Foundation. She lives in Cambridge, England.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781250063731
ISBN-10: 1250063736
Publisher: Picador USA
Publication Date: October 28th, 2014
Pages: 353
Language: English