Night's Child (Paperback)

Night's Child Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


After thirteen-year-old Agnes Fisher faints at school, her teacher, the young and still idealistic Amy Slade, is shocked to discover in the girl's desk two stereoscopic photographs. One is of a dead baby in its cradle, and on the back Agnes has scrawled a terrible message. Worse, the other photograph is of Agnes in a pose captioned "What Mr. Newly Wed Really Wants." When Agnes doesn't show up at school the next day, her teacher takes the two photographs to the police. Murdoch, furious at the sexual exploitation of such a young girl, resolves to find the photographer - and to put him behind bars.
"Night's Child" is the fifth novel in Maureen Jennings's highly praised historical mystery series. Three of Jennings's novels have been made into TV movies under the title "Murder 19C: The Murdoch Mysteries." Bravo/CHUM is currently developing a series based on the character of Detective William Murdoch for broadcast in 2007.

About the Author

Maureen Jennings is the author of the Murdoch Mysteries, a historical series set in Victorian Toronto. The first book, "Except the Dying", won the Certificate of Commendation from Heritage Toronto. CHUM television has ordered the creation of an exciting new 13-episode series, "The Murdoch Mysteries", based on these novels. "The K Handshape" is the second in Maureen's new series featuring Christine Morris. Maureen lives in Toronto with her husband and two dogs.

Praise For…

“The portrayal of Victorian life in Toronto rings true. We feel the chill of the poorly heated rooms and sympathize with all those at the margins of society. . . . This is a well-written, tightly plotted mystery.”
Quill & Quire

“Jennings has . . . a fine eye for telling details and good characters.”
Globe and Mail

Product Details
ISBN: 9780771043345
ISBN-10: 0771043341
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Publication Date: May 18th, 2010
Pages: 372
Language: English
Series: Murdoch Mysteries