The Way of Kings (Paperback)

$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Tattered Cover Book Store Historic LoDo
3 on hand, as of Sep 2 7:39pm
(FIC SCI FI GENERAL)

Description


The trade paperback features a bonus full-page illustration unique to this edition

Widely acclaimed for his work completing Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time saga, Brandon Sanderson now begins a grand cycle of his own, one every bit as ambitious and immersive.

Roshar is a world of stone and storms. Uncanny tempests of incredible power sweep across the rocky terrain so frequently that they have shaped ecology and civilization alike. Animals hide in shells, trees pull in branches, and grass retracts into the soilless ground. Cities are built only where the topography offers shelter.

It has been centuries since the fall of the ten consecrated orders known as the Knights Radiant, but their Shardblades and Shardplate remain: mystical swords and suits of armor that transform ordinary men into near-invincible warriors. Men trade kingdoms for Shardblades. Wars were fought for them, and won by them.

One such war rages on a ruined landscape called the Shattered Plains. There, Kaladin, who traded his medical apprenticeship for a spear to protect his little brother, has been reduced to slavery. In a war that makes no sense, where ten armies fight separately against a single foe, he struggles to save his men and to fathom the leaders who consider them expendable.

Brightlord Dalinar Kholin commands one of those other armies. Like his brother, the late king, he is fascinated by an ancient text called "The Way of Kings." Troubled by over-powering visions of ancient times and the Knights Radiant, he has begun to doubt his own sanity.

Across the ocean, an untried young woman named Shallan seeks to train under an eminent scholar and notorious heretic, Dalinar's niece, Jasnah. Though she genuinely loves learning, Shallan's motives are less than pure. As she plans a daring theft, her research for Jasnah hints at secrets of the Knights Radiant and the true cause of the war.

The result of over ten years of planning, writing, and world-building, "The Way of Kings" is but the opening movement of the Stormlight Archive, a bold masterpiece in the making.

Speak again the ancient oaths,

Life before death.
Strength before weakness.
Journey before Destination.
and return to men the Shards they once bore.

The Knights Radiant must stand again.

About the Author


Brandon Sanderson is the author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Steelheart, the first book in the Reckoners series, and the internationally bestselling books in the Stormlight Archive and the Mistborn series. He was also chosen to com-plete Robert Jordan s The Wheel of Time series. His books have been published in more than twenty-five languages and have sold millions of copies worldwide. He lives and writes in Utah. To learn more about Brandon and his books, visit him at brandonsanderson.com and follow @brandsanderson on Twitter.

Praise For…


For The Way of Kings

“I loved this book. What else is there to say?”—Patrick Rothfuss, bestselling author of The Name of the Wind

“This is a great choice for fans of Robert Jordan and Terry Brooks.” —Voice of Youth Advocates

“The best part…is the compelling, complex story of Dalinar, Kaladin, and Shallan as they struggle though emotional, physical, and moral challenges. Fans and lovers of epic fantasy…will eagerly await the next volume.” —Library Journal


“Epic in every sense. Sanderson has built a world that leaps to life, a cast of varied characters and a vast history which slowly unfolds with the deepening story of Roshar.”
Guardian (UK)

“[Sanderson] will be spoken in the same breath as Tolkien, Leiber, Moorcock, Jordan…and George R. R. Martin.”
—SFFworld.com

“Featuring ingenious magic . . . feisty characters, and a complex plot likely to unwind over several volumes, this high-spirited, exciting story will appeal to readers of all ages.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review, on The Rithmatist

“Sanderson's outstanding fantasy debut, refreshingly complete unto itself and free of the usual genre clichés, offers something for everyone. . . . The intrigue and excitement grow steadily in this smoothly written, perfectly balanced narrative; by the end readers won't want to put it down.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review, on Elantris

Product Details
ISBN: 9780765376671
ISBN-10: 0765376679
Publisher: Tor Books
Publication Date: March 4th, 2014
Pages: 1007
Language: English