Snopes: A Trilogy (Hardcover)

Snopes: A Trilogy Cover Image
Special Order


From the Modern Library's new set of beautifully repackaged hardcover classics by William Faulkner--also available are "As I Lay Dying, The Sound and the Fury, Light in August, Absalom, Absalom , "and "Selected Short Stories"
Here, published in a single volume as he always hoped they would be, are the three novels that comprise William Faulkner's famous Snopes trilogy, a saga that stands as perhaps the greatest feat of this celebrated author's incomparable imagination. "The Hamlet, "the first book of the series chronicling the advent and rise of the grasping Snopes family in mythical Yoknapatawpha County, is a work that Cleanth Brooks called "one of the richest novels in the Faulkner canon." It recounts how the wily, cunning Flem Snopes dominates the rural community of Frenchman's Bend--and claims the voluptuous Eula Varner as his bride. "The Town, " the central novel, records Flem's ruthless struggle to take over the county seat of Jefferson, Mississippi. Finally, "The Mansion "tells of Mink Snopes, whose archaic sense of honor brings about the downfall of his cousin Flem. "For all his concerns with the South, Faulkner was actually seeking out the nature of man," noted Ralph Ellison. "Thus we must turn to him for that continuity of moral purpose which made for the greatness of our classics.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780679600923
ISBN-10: 0679600922
Publisher: Modern Library
Publication Date: March 15th, 1994
Pages: 1072
Language: English
Series: Modern Library (Hardcover)