The Serpent King (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Serpent King Cover Image
$9.99
On Our Shelves Now
Tattered Cover Book Store Colfax Ave
4 on hand, as of Dec 13 7:15am
(JVF YA GENERAL)
Tattered Cover Book Store Historic LoDo
3 on hand, as of Dec 13 7:15am
(JVF YA GENERAL - Used available at 5.00)
Tattered Cover Book Store Aspen Grove
2 on hand, as of Dec 13 7:15am
(JVF YA GENERAL)

Staff Reviews


Although the setting and the themes are alien to me (far exurbs of Nashville, religious extremism, parental abuse, alcoholism), the way these characters tap into an inner creativity to overcome their odds is artistic, awe-inspiring and unique. With heartbreaking and trying friendships, a stronger, more universal theme emerges with what friends will do to help them realize their potential and move them to settings that are both mentally and physically healthier, more enriching and full of potential; ultimately, hope.

— Kristen Gilligan, Co-owner, Tattered Cover

Description


Named to ten BEST OF THE YEAR lists and selected as a William C. Morris Award Winner, The Serpent King is the critically acclaimed, much-beloved story of three teens who find themselves--and each other--while on the cusp of graduating from high school with hopes of leaving their small-town behind.

This gorgeous paperback edition with a full-color step-back cover will have teens everywhere itching to discover the book that everyone is talking about. Perfect for fans of John Green's Turtles All the Way Down.

"Move over, John Green; Zentner is coming for you." --The New York Public Library

"Will fill the infinite space that was left in your chest after you finished The Perks of Being a Wallflower." --BookRiot.com

Dill isn't the most popular kid at his rural Tennessee high school. After his father fell from grace in a public scandal that reverberated throughout their small town, Dill became a target. Fortunately, his two fellow misfits and best friends, Travis and Lydia, have his back.

But as they begin their senior year, Dill feels the coils of his future tightening around him. His only escapes are music and his secret feelings for Lydia--neither of which he is brave enough to share. Graduation feels more like an ending to Dill than a beginning. But even before then, he must cope with another ending--one that will rock his life to the core.

Debut novelist Jeff Zentner provides an unblinking and at times comic view of the hard realities of growing up in the Bible belt, and an intimate look at the struggles to find one's true self in the wreckage of the past.

"A story about friendship, family and forgiveness, it's as funny and witty as it is utterly heartbreaking." --PasteMagazine.com

"A brutally honest portrayal of teen life . . . and] a love letter to the South from a man who really understands it." --Mashable.com

"I adored all three of these characters and the way they talked to and loved one another."--New York Times

About the Author


Before becoming a writer, JEFF ZENTNER was a singer-songwriter and guitarist who recorded with Iggy Pop, Nick Cave, and Debbie Harry. He lives in Nashville with his wife and son. Committed to making creativity a part of his everyday life, Zentner wrote both his debut novel, The Serpent King, and his follow-up book, Goodbye Days, on his iPhone while taking the bus to and from work. You can follow Zentner on Facebook, on Instagram, and on Twitter at @jeffzentner.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780553524055
ISBN-10: 0553524054
Publisher: Ember
Publication Date: June 6th, 2017
Pages: 400
Language: English