The Deepest Secret (Paperback)

$15.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


For fans of Jodi Picoult, Kim Edwards, and William Landay, "The Deepest Secret "is part intimate family drama, part gripping page-turner, exploring the profound power of the truths we're scared to face . . . about our marriages, our children, and ourselves.
"Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more."
Twelve years ago, Eve Lattimore's life changed forever. Her two-year-old son Tyler on her lap, her husband's hand in hers, she waited for the child's devastating diagnosis: XP, a rare genetic disease, a fatal sensitivity to sunlight. Eve remembers that day every morning as she hustles Tyler up the stairs from breakfast before the sun rises, locking her son in his room, curtains drawn, computer glowing, as he faces another day of virtual schooling, of virtual friendships. But every moment of vigilance is worth it. This is Eve's job, to safeguard her boy against the light, to protect his fragile life each day, to keep him alive--maybe even long enough for a cure to be found.
Tonight, Eve's life is about to change again, forever. It's only an instant on a rainy road--just a quick text as she sits behind the wheel--and another mother's child lies dead in Eve's headlights. The choice she faces is impossible: confess and be taken from Tyler, or drive away and start to lie like she's never lied before.
Praise for "The Deepest Secret"
"A taut family drama . . . smart and thrilling."--"People"
"Elegant, poignant, and utterly riveting . . . a suspenseful tale of love, forgiveness, and sacrifice that will leave you asking how far a mother really should go to protect her family and wondering about the cost of the secrets we all keep, even from ourselves."--Kimberly McCreight, "New York Times "bestselling author of "Reconstructing Amelia"
"Exceptionally moving and unrelentingly suspenseful . . . everything a great novel, and thriller, should be.""--Providence Journal"
"Superb . . . The story offers the intricate suspense and surprise of a thriller, along with rich characterizations and nuanced writing. . . . A gripping read and a memorable reflection on the conflicting imperatives of love."--"Publishers Weekly" (starred review)
" "
"Carla Buckley masterfully portrays an ordinary family trapped in a heart-wrenching crisis."--William Landay, "New York Times "bestselling author of "Defending Jacob"
" "
"Fans of Jodi Picoult will enjoy this compelling blend of ripped-from-the-headlines suspense and close-to-your-heart characters."--Lisa Gardner, #1 "New York Times "bestselling author of "Fear Nothing.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780553393736
ISBN-10: 0553393731
Publisher: Bantam
Publication Date: October 21st, 2014
Pages: 480
Language: English