The Paradise Guest House (Compact Disc)

The Paradise Guest House Cover Image
Special Order


A riveting and poignant novel of one woman’s journey to Bali in search of love, renewal, and a place to call home—perfect for readers of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love and Alex Garland’s The Beach.
It starts as a trip to paradise. Sent on assignment to Bali, Jamie, an American adventure guide, imagines spending weeks exploring the island’s lush jungles and pristine white sand beaches. Yet three days after her arrival, she is caught in Bali’s infamous nightclub bombings, which irreparably change her life and leave her with many unanswered questions.
One year later, haunted by memories, Jamie returns to Bali seeking a sense of closure. Most of all, she hopes to find Gabe, the man who saved her from the attacks. She hasn’t been able to forget his kindness—or the spark between them as he helped her heal. Checking into a cozy guest house for her stay, Jamie meets the kindly owner, who is coping with a painful past of his own, and a young boy who improbably becomes crucial to her search. Jamie has never shied away from a challenge, but a second chance with Gabe presents her with the biggest dilemma of all: whether she’s ready to open her heart.
Look for special features inside. Join the Circle for author chats and more.
Praise for Ellen Sussman’s French Lessons
“[A] luscious novel of love and longing . . . The narrative feels as light as a glass of rosé at an outdoor café, but its insights carry the richness of a Burgundy.”—People (four stars)
“Sizzling escapist reading.”—Entertainment Weekly

About the Author

Ellen Sussman is the author of the novels "French Lessons" and "On a Night Like This," both national bestsellers. She has two daughters and lives with her husband in Northern California.

Praise For…

Praise for The Paradise Guest House:

“Echoing Bali’s difficult recovery from [the 2002 terrorist bombing], the characters tread the difficult terrain of post-traumatic attachment… A respectful and earnest…treatment of devastation’s aftermath.”—Kirkus

Product Details
ISBN: 9780385359436
Publisher: Random House Audio
Publication Date: March 1st, 2013