Prize Stories 1986: The O. Henry Awards (Paperback)

Prize Stories 1986: The O. Henry Awards Cover Image
By William Abrahams (Editor)
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


Widely regarded as the nation's most prestigious award for short fiction. The Atlantic Monthly

The O. Henry Prize Stories 1986 collects 19 of the best short stories of the year, selected from thousands published in literary magazines. The 1986 winning story is Alice Walker's Kindred Spirits, which profiles a young African-American woman after her divorce from her white husband. A Special Award for Continuing Achievement is given to Joyce Carol Oates for Master Race that narrates a shocking of a sexual assault in Germany. Other stories include:
Stuart Dybek Pet Milk
Greg Johnson Crazy Ladies
John L Heureux The Comedian
Joyce R. Kornblatt Offerings
Ward Just The Costa Brava, 1959
Peter Meinke Uncle George and Uncle Stefan
Bobbie Anne Mason Big Bertha Stories
Merrill Joan Gerber I Don t Believe This
Gordon Lish Resurrection
Peter Cameron Excerpts from Swan Lake
Alice Adams Molly's Dog
Deborah Eisenberg Transaction in a Foreign Currency
Anthony DiFranco The Garden of Redemption
Jeanne Wilmot Dirt Angel
Elizabeth Spencer The Cousins
Irvin Faust The Year of the Hot Jock
Stephanie Vaughn Kid MacArthur
Product Details
ISBN: 9780385231565
ISBN-10: 0385231563
Publisher: Anchor Books
Publication Date: August 12th, 1986
Pages: 292
Language: English