Harlem's Little Blackbird (Hardcover)

Harlem's Little Blackbird Cover Image
By Renee Watson, Christian Robinson (Illustrator)
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


From acclaimed author Renee Watson and Caldecott Honor winner Christian Robinson comes the true story of Florence Mills. Born to parents who were former-slaves Florence knew early on that she loved to sing. And that people really responded to her sweet, bird-like voice. Her dancing and singing catapulted her all the way to the stages of 1920s Broadway where she inspired songs and even entire plays Yet with all this success, she knew firsthand how bigotry shaped her world. And when she was offered the role of a lifetime from Ziegfeld himself, she chose to support all-black musicals instead.
Fans of "When Marian Sang" and "Ella Fitzgerald: The Tale of a Vocal Virtuosa" will jump at the chance to discover another talented performer whose voice transcended and transformed the circumstances society placed on her.

About the Author


RENEE WATSON has worked as a teaching-artist for more than 10 years, teaching creative writing and theater to elementary, middle, and high school students. She also uses writing and drama therapy to work with youth and adults. Renee lives in New York, NY."

Praise For…


Starred Review, Booklist, June 2012:
“With a text that stylistically sings yet is packed with information, the book introduces a woman who, though part of the Harlem Renaissance, is not well remembered by history.”

Product Details
ISBN: 9780375869730
ISBN-10: 0375869735
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 23rd, 2012
Pages: 40
Language: English