Jeremy Thatcher, Dragon Hatcher (Paperback)

By Bruce Coville, Gary A. Lippincott (Illustrator)
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


Sixth-grader Jeremy Thatcher discovers a strange magic shop he has never seen before. He enters, and his life is changed forever. Buying what he thinks is a marble, he discovers he has really purchased a dragon's egg.

About the Author

BRUCE COVILLE is the author of over 100 books for children and young adults, including the international bestseller My Teacher is an Alien, the Unicorn Chronicles series, and the much-beloved Jeremy Thatcher, Dragon Hatcher. His work has appeared in a dozen languages and won children's choice awards in a dozen states. Before becoming a full time writer Bruce was a teacher, a toymaker, a magazine editor, a gravedigger, and a cookware salesman. He is also the creator of Full Cast Audio, an audiobook company devoted to producing full cast, unabridged recordings of material for family listening and has produced over a hundred audiobooks, directing and/or acting in most of them. Bruce lives in Syracuse, New York, with his wife, illustrator and author Katherine Coville. Visit his website at

Gary A. Lippincott (Petersham, Massachusetts) has won numerous awards for his fantasy art, which is in many collections worldwide. Books he has illustrated include Bruce Colville's Jeremy Thatcher, Dragon Hatcher and Jane Yolen's Come to the Fairy Ball, and his cover art has graced works by such authors as Ursula K. Le Guin, J.R.R. Tolkien, Tanith Lee, and Charles DeLint.

Praise For…

[set star] "A funny, enjoyable, imaginative story whose serious undercurrents lend it unexpected depth."--Kirkus Reviews (starred)
"Not only is the story involving but the reader can really get a feeling for Jeremy as a person."--VOYA
"Will bring laughter and near tears to readers . . . Dragons really exist for a little while."--School Library Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9780152062521
ISBN-10: 0152062521
Publisher: Harcourt Brace and Company
Publication Date: November 2007
Pages: 151
Language: English
Series: Magic Shop Books (Paperback)