Calling My Name (Hardcover)

Calling My Name Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Tattered Cover Book Store Colfax Ave
5 on hand, as of Nov 18 7:15am
(JVF YA GENERAL)
Tattered Cover Book Store Historic LoDo
3 on hand, as of Nov 18 7:15am
(JVF YA GENERAL)
Tattered Cover Book Store Aspen Grove
3 on hand, as of Nov 18 7:15am
(JVF YA GENERAL)

Description


Calling My Name, by debut author Liara Tamani, is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self--ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros.

This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose.

Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, Calling My Name follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that deftly captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062656865
ISBN-10: 0062656864
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: October 24th, 2017
Pages: 320
Language: English