Carve the Mark (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Carve the Mark Cover Image
$22.99
On Our Shelves Now
Tattered Cover Book Store Colfax Ave
11 on hand, as of May 28 6:46am
(JVF YA SCI-FI & FANT)
Tattered Cover Book Store Historic LoDo
4 on hand, as of May 28 6:46am
(JVF YA SCI-FI & FANT)
Tattered Cover Book Store Aspen Grove
11 on hand, as of May 28 6:46am
(JVF YA SCI-FI & FANT)

Staff Reviews


The best selling author of the Divergent series sweeps us off our feet with a new spectacular tail. Carve the Mark is a heart-throbbing story of Akos and Cyra, and the quest to save their family and uncover the secrets about their fate. He will die for his family. She will kill for hers. This book was a thrilling masterpiece; I would recommend this to anyone who seeks adventure and action.

— Elizabeth S.; Tattered Cover Teen Advisory Board member

Initially, I struggled to get into this book as the narration switched from first person for one character and third person for another. As I continued to read, however, I was able to overlook that and get to know the characters. It is a testament to Veronica Roth's character development that you can grow to love two very flawed characters. Once I got past the first one hundred pages or so, I had little difficulty getting through the story. I was pretty engrossed and despite the book being rather long, I read it quickly. There is so much happening in this story, and I wanted to see how it would all end. I am looking forward to the next in the series.

— Teacher, Jefferson Academy Secondary in Broomfield, CO

Description


Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth's stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.

On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not--their gifts make them vulnerable to others' control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world?

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra's currentgift gives her pain and power--something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother's hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuvhe, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive--no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra's world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive--or to destroy one another.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062348630
ISBN-10: 0062348639
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: January 17th, 2017
Pages: 480
Language: English